We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance meet comfort! This B & B was fantastic right down to the last cookie in the jar!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Upon entering, you are greeted by the most welcoming innkeeper and a big jar of M&M's!! The decor and ambience was phenomenal down to every lil detail. My room was perfect and the bed was ultimate! The bathroom and the rest of the quarters was awesomely comfortable. Breakfast? Forget about finding a better meal to start your day and to set your mood. If you appreciate food and service like I do, then The Chadwick is your place and you need to meet Scot and Adam!! I came to Maine expecting to fall in love. And I did! With Maine!!!!! Thanks for everything, you guys!!!! Missed you as soon as my taxi pulled away.
PS: can u please send me the cookie recipe? I'm in withdrawal!!!
Sam

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samrossassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 596 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Welcoming and oh so comfortable, the Chadwick B&B is the way to go when visiting Portland, ME.

Scot knows how to take the B&B experience to new heights with exceptional service. The house is charming and very cozy, with indoor and outdoor spaces to relax. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The breakfasts are better than most restaurants'. I'd love it if they did room service, but I'll drag myself out of the comfy bed to get to the dining room for them!

Tip: The Chadwick is located in the west end, which is the loveliest part of the old town. When you venture out by foot to explore the town, go via the neighborhood (not down Congress). Don't miss the west promenade, and meander through the mansion-lined streets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDeanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Friendly welcome and nice, clean accommodations. We liked the location which is within walking distance to the old port area and streets of beautifully restored mansions. Excellent breakfast here, and Adam made excellent suggestions for restaurant dining.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast was so very accommodating, this was our first visit to the Portland area and we could not be happier with our choice of where to stay. Great breakfasts, each morning. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We received many great suggestions from the staff about local restaurants and attractions nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved that we came into a place with wine, snacks, and refreshments available for the taking. (the wine was added to the room) but it was so welcoming! Also, the rooms were very clean with fresh sheets and cute fireplaces. Scott is also a caterer so his breakfast was incredible. The granola and warm milk was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a great time at Chadwicks. The rooms are beautful and clean and the service is friendly. The location is excellent, only a mile from the bars and restaurants. The breakfast they make in the morning is delicious, every bit as good as you would get in downtown portland. Would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the hospitality at the inn. Scott and Adam have thought about anything you could possibly need during your stay. The room was cozy and comfortable with a private bath. The breakfast Scott made us was amazing and his homemade cookies were a great snack in the afternoon. We were able to purchase a bottle of wine which we enjoyed while we relaxed before dinner. The location was convenient to shopping and restaurants. When back in Portland we will definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.
Wisconsin

Room Tip: We stayed in the Longfellow room, but I would be comfortable in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,522 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#2 of 11 in Portland
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn On Carleton
Inn On Carleton
#4 of 11 in Portland
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $128 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway in Portland, Maine, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home-away-from-home. Do as little or as much as you’d like. Whether you are visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing