We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cape Cod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The second time my wife and I have stayed at the Chadwick, this time with friends we convinced to come along. Top notch service and the breakfasts were awesome. Rooms were super clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on. Portland is a fun city best to be enjoyed on foot but you don't have to drive far to enjoy it either. We will be back, worthy of at least an annual trip. Thanks Scot and Adam.

Room Tip: The Chamberlain Room's bathroom is separate from the room but is still your private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    41
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
425
20
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed two nights, in the Chamberlain room # 4. The B&B was so inviting and comfortable. I truly felt pampered and welcome. Thank You Adam and Scott, The little details made all the difference. I hope to be back sooner than later. I do have to say because of the chilly weather it would have been nice if you were a little closer to the old port because of the parking situation there.

Room Tip: Make sure to bring your appetite. Wonderful full breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmlee450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Chadwick. On the Thursday night we stayed in the Abbott Room and on the Sunday in the Baxter and we were very happy in both. The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable and we had no issues with noise. The breakfasts were great. The main living room is very inviting and we did spend some time there reading and enjoying the coffee/tea and treats provided. Scot and Adam were very helpful and cheerful. We were able to walk to the downtown in about 30 minutes at a leisurely pace. All-in-all, we had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the fact that the bathroom for the Baxter Room is across the hall. The Baxte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momyces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed at. The rooms were comfortable and cozy, but what really stood out was the service. Scott & Adam were amazingly friendly and always ready with a great restaurant recommendation or tips about the city. Breakfast was also incredible. It's a bit outside downtown Portland but it's a small walkable city so we didn't mind. If you're heading to Portland this is definitely a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Abbot has an in-room private bathroom which was a must for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dysplastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking for a B&B that truly felt like a B&B but also didn't want something that felt like you were staying in your grandma's house. The Chadwick inn was perfect. We stayed in Room #2 (the Abbot Room), with a small fireplace and attached bathroom. The little details made the difference- comfortable robes and chocolates and personalized note upon arrival to name a few. Living space was great-- a sunny area to read in the morning and sip coffee. Breakfast prepared by Scot was delicious and gourmet. The jar of cookies, jelly beans, and snacks leff out for guests to take was such a nice added touch. The inn was quiet and we did not have any noise problems. Beds were comfortable and high- which i like! Lastly,Scot and Adam gave knoweldgable reservations on where to eat and visit. EventTides is a must stop if you love oysters and lobster rolls with a twist. Wish we could have spent more than 1 night here. If you are looking for relaxation and cozy accomodations ... this is the place for you. They make it feel like your home.

Room Tip: Abbot room was nice with an attached bathroom and on the top floor to minimize any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Chadwick B&B was one of the most relaxing places we have ever stayed at. My girlfriend and I were incredibly impressed by the wide range of amenities and services. Everyday we woke up to a freshly made breakfast and warm smiles. There were yummy homemade oatmeal cookies, herbal teas, granola bars, coffee, Twizzlers, etc. etc.!! Our room was cozy and had the most comfortable bed either of us have ever slept on. Honestly, the Chadwick was one of the highlights of our trip. If you're going to Portland, don't be a fool. Do yourselves a favor and book a room at this AMAZING B&B!!! Say hi to Steve and Adam!!! Thanks guys :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Baxter Room. It was private and quiet!! Super comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Chadwick was an absolute pleasure to stay in! My boyfriend & I were first time visitors to Portland, and the Chadwick was an amazing introduction to the city. We were greeted by Adam who gave us a friendly & thorough tour of the immaculate B&B, including a book of local menus that he & the owner had picked. Very helpful in selecting a place to go that night.
I could go on & on, but just to hit the highest notes: the breakfast was incredible, I'm sure we could not have found better in a restaurant, Scott baked mouthwatering oatmeal raisin cookies each day for guests to snack on, our room could not have been nicer, immaculately clean with the most comfy bed I've ever slept it. The electric fireplace & flat screen tv were cherries on the sunday. Having travelled quite a bit, I can say this is an exceptional place to stay, and I would not stay anywhere else on my next visit to Portland.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,337 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway in Portland, Maine, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home-away-from-home. Do as little or as much as you’d like. Whether you are visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing