We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay! Would highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay! Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Scot and Laura were wonderful! The B&B was beautiful, very well kept, very welcoming. The oatmeal cookies were fantastic! Our room was spacious and lovely. Breakfast each morning was divine. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    41
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
419
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were very fortunate to have stayed at Scot's Chadwick while my father was due to have major heart surgery.
The guest rooms were immaculate, warm, cozy and reminded me of being at home! Really- not just saying that!
The oatmeal cookies, ( loaded with oats, as I am a health nut) were Sublime! Mom preferred the lemon macaroons with her tea in the afternoon.
Breakfast was always delicious and was served with a five star presentation. Fresh fruit and strong, quality coffee was
Sublime after a long, hot shower.
We've returned to the Chadwick twice now and would not hesitate to book a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefgeoff100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had such a relaxing weekend. The room and washrooms were spotless and cozy. We enjoyed afternoon coffee and baked goods while reading the paper. And the breakfast was delicious!! It was quiet, welcoming, and peaceful...just what we needed. I would highly recommend Chadwick B & B and look forward to returning. Thanks Scot!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, pa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

breakfast was amazing! thick slices of french toast layered with red-skinned pears and brie, with sides of bacon and fresh fruit. the room was beautiful, spotless, and comfortable. owner/staff and other guests were so friendly, immediately felt at home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Exceeded our expectations by a significant margin. Best B and B we have ever stayed in. Gourmet breakfast ... wonderful. Rooms ... perfect. Decorations .... perfect. Cleanliness ...cleaned spotless every day. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just returned home, very sad to have left the Chadwick.

What a fantastic B&B. Scot has made this B&B a true home away from home. With plenty of board games and DVD's for the quiet nights in, and with a fantastic selection of wines and extra amenities for the room, the Chadwick truly is a special place. We stayed here for two nights to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. The room was extremely comfortable. Another guest wrote in the guestbook that the bed felt "as though it hugs you" and we couldn't agree more!

Breakfast was INCREDIBLE. Day one's offering included french toast stuffed with brie, pear and fresh rosemary. Day two's offering included quiche made with goat cheese, caramelized onions and fresh thyme. We had arrived in Portland with many brunch recommendations in hand. We never made it to any of them. Why go, when this fabulous breakfast came with our stay?

We cannot recommend this place enough. Go! Go now! (Also of note: very LGBT friendly.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I only had a time for a quick visit to Portland and after speaking to a few Inn-Keepers we settled on The Chadwick. Scot, the Owner, ensured that we were well-informed before we arrived by providing a short list of restaurants. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown through the splendidly decorated home. The rooms maintained all the original architectural detail of the 19th Century while contemporary amenities and design accents provided a well-balanced atmosphere. Scot and Laura provided thoughtful conversation and well-informed direction and guidance to maximize our tight timeline. The entire experience was a treat and we will certainly return and encourage all others to have a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CHADWICK BED & BREAKFAST: The New Standard of Bed & Breakfast LuxuryThe perfect Portland getaway, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home away from home. Do as little or as much as you like.Whether visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, rest and relaxation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond, leaving you with a rich and memorable experience.Innkeeper & Owner E Scot Fuller, Assistant Innkeeper Adam Alfter, and the rest of The Chadwick Staff take great pride in providing tastefully appointed guest rooms—each with a private bathroom—beautifully landscaped grounds, and a five-star gourmet breakfast each and every morning. We can’t wait to have you experience it for yourself!Within walking distance, you’ll find Portland’s finest galleries, museums, theaters, shops, and restaurants. Guests often use The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast as a base for traveling to other nearby locations such as the Lakes Region of Western Maine, the rugged coastline of Acadia National Park, the sandy beaches of Southern Maine, and the breathtaking White Mountains of New Hampshire.Shoppers and restaurant enthusiasts alike will find whatever they are looking for not only downtown but just a car ride away in Freeport, Kittery, Bar Harbor, and Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing