We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Francis(Portland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveler rating
564
42
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
42
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bchamberlain roomcookiespumpkin waffleselectric fireplaceliving roomprivate balconybreakfast was deliciousold portgracious hostsfresh fruitlittle touchesthe bed was extremely comfortableeach morningfire pitquiet neighborhoodlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 611 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was our last night of a 10 day trip along the Maine coast. We only had one day in Portland, but it was one of the best night's sleep I had during our vacation. The bed and bedding was very comfy, and the robes appreciated. The extra snacks in the dining room were a nice touch, and the breakfast was very tasty. Our hosts were extremely personable and helpful. The location of the B & B was in a quieter neighborhood yet minutes away to all that Portland has to offer, and only ten minutes away to the airport. It was perfect for our quick stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealtorJane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Missed Scot (out of town), but Laura made our stay memorable. The inn is beautiful, comfortable and immaculate. Lovely decorating. The Baxter Room with it's balcony and large, colorful bathroom were perfect. Recommendations for dinner helped us to decide to dine our two evenings at Vignola's (Italian) and The Grill Room (superb steaks and sides). Took a trolley tour around the city, with a guide who was informative and humorous. Portland has the amenities of a large city with the warmth and ambiance of a small town. We will return.

Room Tip: The Chadwick's website is very good. We chose the Baxter for the balcony, but all rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in Portland for one night and it was wonfderful to find this b&b. lovely decoration,well located,breakfast was extremely good.thanks to Scot& Laura for all the work their doing.They are very professional.we would go back with no doubts.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FannyTarragona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our experience of the Chadwick was really good. Scott and Laura were very welcoming. The room. with its small verandah was furnished to a very high standard. The bathroom was large and although across the hall was very private.

Throughout our stay,the breakfasts were lovely. With only 4 rooms , the service was very personal. Scott and Laura were extremely helpful in providing advice about good places to eat.

We found Portland to be a friendly city with easy access to great coastline, particulalry to the north of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here over Labor Day mostly because I've always wanted to go to Maine. Scot & Laura are fabulous, our room (Longfellow) was so cozy and inviting, and breakfast is absolutely amazing. I would walk back to Maine for more breakfast! They are great with reservations and recommendations for places to eat. There is a fabulous dvd library and every little detail is completely handled. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from Old Port, which was fine for us because we loved the walks. Otherwise, just plan to rent a car. The street is nice and quiet, and even though it's near the local hospital, we didn't hear any sirens or noises at all during the night. It was the perfect get-away for us!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews