We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, pictaresque, warm, friendly, great food and great people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We recently stayed at The Chadwich B&B mid-May 2011 and had such a great time. We were only there for one night but it felt so cozy, warm and just like the kind of place you want to be after some weary travels. Scott was our innkeeper and is a great chef!!! He made some awesome breakfast for us and the best part about the dining area are the amazingly large and delicious homemade cookies in the jar. We really loved room #4, it was so serene and had a great personal fireplace. Terrific location to the wharf and town and overall such an awesome place. We are definitely telling all of our family and friends about it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thanks for helping get out the word! Scot & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 587 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

What a great find in Portland!! My husband & I, along with my parents, took a quick 4-day break to Maine. We started outside of Camden in a fancy inn right on the ocean. Then we went to Bar Harbor & stayed at another fancy hotel directly on the water. Then we got to Portland. This B&B blew the other 2 hotels out of the water!!

We had the Chamberlain room & the parents had the Baxter. The Chamberlain was large & airy with a king size bed and awesome overstuffed chair with ottomon. The bed was insanely comfortable and the linens incredibly soft. The Baxter had a queen size bed and was very private - down the hall & around a corner - they also had a balcony with chairs. Both rooms had bathrooms out of the rooms - but it didn't cause any problems at all. The towels were to die for - so soft & fluffy! Each room also had a flat screen TV with DVD player so you could watch one of the DVDs available. The decor throughout the house is beautiful.

Scott was fantastic - he showed us around the place and gave us suggestions on where to eat. There is complimentary water & seltzer and a nice wine list if you'd like to buy a bottle. There is always coffee, tea & snacks out for you as well. The homemade cookies were probably the best I've ever had - warm chocolate chip that were oozing with melty chocolate - YUM!!! The breakfast was also delicious - starting with yogurt with honey and dried cherries and blueberries. Then we had fresh fruit, lemon-blueberry pancakes & sausage. The pancakes were simply amazing.

We will definitely be back to The Chadwick. It's in a great location if you don't mind driving to Old Port (only a few minutes away). It got a littly noisy next to the hospital, but there was a wonderful sound machine in the room that made it all go away. This B&B is great, especially if you've had run-ins with old, stuffy B&Bs - this place will change your mind!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grizedale1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

We are happy you enjoyed your stay so much and what a great review for other people to read. As for the chocolate chip cookies, our secret is simply this: follow the Toll-House Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe exactly but add about a 1/2 cup of extra chocolate chips! So wonderful to host a family traveling together. Scot & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Scotty and Laura were great, very welcoming and knowledgeable. The room was immaculate, quiet and private (we stayed in the back room and had our own privatge balcony). The walk to Old Port is very manageable, but there are plenty of things to do that are closer if you don't feel like walking. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinGov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

We are so happy you could spend your 1st Anniversary here with us in Portland and at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast! The Baxter Room is great for shorter 1 or 2 night stays and its size allows for romantic nights together. Hope to host you again next year! Scot & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was one of the best parts of our trip around New England. Scot and Laura made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived, which was well before check in. Both of them took the time to explain the B&B setup and encouraged us to look around and feel at home. Their shared sense of humour was valued by us and once again made us feel very much at home. The rooms (we stayed in two during our stay) were immaculate and the cheese platter and wine were a perfect combination. The breakfast were both nutricious and unique providing a good start to our days of touring. Scot took the time to explain how to get to the Old Port and made great suggestions for dining...especially The Dry Dock at the Old Port and Seang Thai Restaurant located not too far from the B&B
where they allow you to purchase a bottle of your choice and have it with your meal.
One of the best B&Bs we have stayed thank you again Scot and Laura.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chalkie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We also throughly enjoyed chatting (but mostly laughing) with the two of you. We love our Artisan Cheese Board and the the Lobster Reef New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc pairs great with it! Glad you made it back to Australia safely. Scot & Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We were on an anniversary trip, and The Chadwick was very romantic. Our room, The Baxter, was in the back of the house, away from the other rooms, so it was like our own little private part of the house. We even had a fireplace & a small balcony overlooking the garden as well. The beds were so comfortable that it really made it hard to want to get out of bed. Everything was so clean, spotless really. The breakfast were great too, very filling. Good to have a home cooked breakfast, rather than cereal, muffins and donuts we get when we stay at a hotel. They really have gone out of there way to make everything perfect. The innkeeper was so helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions that were great! Only wish we had more time to stay and experience more.

Room Tip: The Baxter was smaller but more private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hm06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

We love The Baxter too! Even though the room is smaller than the others, the outside deck and big bathroom really make it a wonderful space, almost more like a Suite. With the office is below, storage above, and no other rooms adjacent, The Baxter does provide the most privacy of all of our rooms. Come back soon! Scot & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

beautiful home, great appointments, well cleaned, excellent food quality, professional staff. It was everything they said it would be. Simmon Beauty rest classic matress. There's a great sitting room to have an afternoon glass (or bottle) of wine or Chanpagne in, and a cute private sitting area in the yard repleat with plantings and a fire pit.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has the bathroom IN the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gboutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Glad to see you enjoyed so much about your stay! As of this week, the trees and flowers are in full bloom and our backyard spring cleaning is almost complete. New fire pit coming soon! Thank you for your review! Scot & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The Chadwick Bed and Breakfast in Portland, Maine is a gem. Scot and Laura are gracious hosts. They have an absolutely lovely inn located steps from the beautiful Western Promenade and Downtown Portland. The Chadwick has a beautiful living room area with books, magazines and a wine menu! The living room area is very conducive to relaxing. The dining area is cozy and lovely as well. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was super clean and inviting. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. I cannot wait to return to this wonderful inn!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

So happy you enjoyed your stay here at The Chadwick and that you booked another stay so soon! We'll make sure you are just as pleased with this next visit! Scot & Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,448 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $162 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway in Portland, Maine, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home-away-from-home. Do as little or as much as you’d like. Whether you are visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing