We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fresh ingredients and good Pho."”
Review of Thanh Thanh 2

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thanh Thanh 2
Ranked #292 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“"Fresh ingredients and good Pho."”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The restaurant is small and has enough tables to accomodate about 20 to 30 persons. The pho is very tasty with fresh ingredients like bean sprouts, noodles, limes, beef balls and flank steaks; however, the portions are small so if you have a big appetite order a medium or large.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillywillypenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Special Service”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The great food is made all the better by the kind service. I was unsure of a new dish and my server kept checking to make sure I liked it. The dish was called Hu Tieu Bo Kho and it was somewhere between pho and a stew. It had fall-apart pieces of flank steak, noodles, sprouts and such in a very complexly flavored broth/sauce. Start out with the excellent crispy egg rolls, so good we ordered a second serving.

My partner had a standard Vietnamese style Pork Chop that was equally tasty.

Helpful?
Thank WhitPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Pho”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Went to TT2 for lunch during a heavy downpour this last Saturday. The warm bowl of Pho was the right pick me up. The beef pho was bounding with flavors between the broth, the meats, the chili peppers, the lime and the basil. The rice paper wrapped Spring Rolls were decent - not the best I ever had, but good, The peanut sauce that accompanied the Spring Rolls was very good. I had a Durian fruit shake just to have the experience of trying Durian. No fault of TT2, but the fruitshake simply was not for me. I have adventurous tastes and let's just say I understand why this forbidden fruit is illegal to open on the Singapore subway now. Next time around I'll stick with a familiar fruit shake - like mango. The service was very warm and friendly as well - a ++ for this.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this place...but..”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Ok we love this place. It is so good. We get the pho and really love the pho and will come back here often. However---watch out. They often double charge you. Its happened to us probably 5+ times. Just pay in cash and you are good to go.

Other than that- Really good pho!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pho & Shakes: Winning Combo!”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I don't think I've actually been to TT2 since last fall, but I've eaten there multiple times and never been disappointed. I pretty much always get Pho w/rare steak and one of their exotic fruit shakes. I'm from the DC area where Pho spots used to be a dime a dozen and TT's pho ranks right up there for authentic flavor.
The service is consistently friendly whether eat-in or take-out and they've always obliged my request for extra cilantro or asian basil for pho add-in. My fav shake is avocado--don't know anywhere else locally that serves it!
And yes, perhaps they could use a few interior design tips from HGTV, but it's clean and comfy enough. I love knowing that I don't have to compete with hoards of loud groups for a booth, tolerate a long wait when I'm hungry, or circle the block for 10 minutes trying to find parking.
With it's highly convenient location just north of Woodfords Corner, I appreciate being able to pull together a combination outing with an easy urban hike through nearby Baxter Woods/Evergreen Cemetery, and picking up a few deals at nearby Goodwill thrift shop or Haknuman Meanchey asian grocery across the street:)

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank kmk415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Thanh 2 also viewed

Portland, ME
Portland, ME
 

Been to Thanh Thanh 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing