We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this excellent small museum”

Portland Museum of Art
Ranked #3 of 144 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With an extensive permanent collection and nationally renowned exhibitions, the Portland Museum of Art is rightfully taking its place as the best regional museum in the country. The PMA boasts a considerable permanent collection, with beloved works of American, European, and Contemporary art, as well as significant holdings of Maine art-highlighting the rich artistic tradition of the state and its artists. The museum brings it all to life with unparalleled programming. From special member-only events, free school tours, and a commitment to family activities, to PMA Movies, curator talks, and exclusive tours of the Winslow Homer Studio-it's all happening at the PMA.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this excellent small museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

PMA is a wonderfully accessible small museum with a great collection and wonderful special shows. The info is helpful without overwhelming the art. This summer there's a fabulous show of modern art from William Paley's collection - worth a trip just to see. And definitely have a bite to eat downstairs - consistently good local food at a reasonable price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBailey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    329
    57
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Free on Friday after 5pm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Would definitely have given it a lower rating if our visit hadn't been free! It took roughly an hour to look around. We were disappointed there weren't more Winslow Homer pieces. It was a nice touristy way to spend an hour!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I went on a Friday. It was free. Major plus! It was nicely spaced and had a fairly good variety of art. The museum is located in the downtown area so it was a nice change of pace from walking around. I also had the opportunity to enter the house portion which we would have missed if we had not been exploring! Also, I enjoyed the Blueberry Harvest exhibit; however, it was almost missed because it is in a separate area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“What a great Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were visiting from Washington DC..not sure what to expect concerning size & content. What a nice surprise! Very nice displays..a wonderful mix of art.
We especially liked the photos of the Blueberry Harvest.
The GIFT SHOP has some wonderfully creative gifts.
Be sure to visit when you are in Portland.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well-run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was surprised that there weren't more exhibits. The entry fee was reasonable, but didn't get us into the primary exhibit, which wasn't that extensive either. I was also disappointed in not finding a post card or small card of one of the lead paintings.
The building itself is gorgeous and the lighting in it exquisite.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Portland Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing