We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Museum in a small city.”

Portland Museum of Art
Ranked #3 of 150 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With an extensive permanent collection and nationally renowned exhibitions, the Portland Museum of Art is rightfully taking its place as the best regional museum in the country. The PMA boasts a considerable permanent collection, with beloved works of American, European, and Contemporary art, as well as significant holdings of Maine art-highlighting the rich artistic tradition of the state and its artists. The museum brings it all to life with unparalleled programming. From special member-only events, free school tours, and a commitment to family activities, to PMA Movies, curator talks, and exclusive tours of the Winslow Homer Studio-it's all happening at the PMA.
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Museum in a small city.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Portland Museum of Art is a really alive place. They have just open a Winslow Homer studio and have an extensive collection of his art. There is always someting going on there. Of of the best small art museums in the country.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sanford F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    336
    57
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a afternoon”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was totally worth the $12 dollars if you like art museums. It has some much of maines art history. It holds exhibits from Monet to Homer. I would say to take a tour of the city first if you are not from the area. Many of the people who are represented at the museum we learned about from other tours first , so I am glad we waited to the last day to do the Portland museum of Art

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Violetspringwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good exhibits, with some surprises”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

There was a Winslow Homer exhibit at the time of our visit, which was very good. The cost to get in to the museum was $12.00, with a $5.00 adder to see the Homer exhibit. The museum had a surprising number of works by major artists, including impressionists, cubists, post-modernists, and some Hudson Valley School. We were not pestered by the security guards. Having read the previous reviews prior to visiting, I did pay attention to them. They were very professional. We spent around 1 1/2 hours in the museum. The only strange part of the museum are the stairways between floors. It was fine going up the 4 floors because we were spending time on each floor, but we had to search for them on the way down.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank potownbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castine, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Winslow Homer at Portland Museum of Art”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently enjoyed and appreciated several hours in this museum. Portland is a very interesting, small city on the southern coast of Maine. The Winslow Homer exhibit is worthy of a visit! He painted plein air along the Maine coast in the late 19th century and his work reflects that era in northern New England coastal areas. Powerful, evocative work.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“just okay.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

just what i expected. we aren't even art buffs but still had a good time. there is ALOT of square footage here to explore and you can easily burn an hour here even if you aren't the biggest art fan.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller201240827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Portland Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing