We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary dinner”
Review of The Black Harpoon

The Black Harpoon
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Port Clyde
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Back Harpoon is back!! Under new ownership, the restaurant is going back to it's original name! We have a new kitchen and a fresh look in the dining room! A great chef, cooking local seafood, mouthwatering steaks and plenty of other items to delight your taste buds!
South Thomaston, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“anniversary dinner”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we had a wonderful dinner last night at the harpoon. seafood was wonderful and the veggie platter delish !!! even got a burger for our dog ! waitress, Deven (hope I spelled that right ) did a great job , thank you . the j o'donoghues

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I was just there this week for dinner. I have not found a good prime rib for quite some time, but I did here! The meal was really good, and the service was super friendly! Definitely a worthwhile trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HereAtLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would not return.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We often like to sit at the bar - as we did recently. We waitd a very long time for our steamers and we on the verge of cancelling our main dish because of the wait. The steamers were gritty. The main dish which we split - not cheap - $25 - was comprised of over cooked seafood with rice. Despite the lack of eating spots in Port Clyde, we would not return to this restaurant and do not recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cook50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimview, General Manager at The Black Harpoon, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
The restaurant is under new ownership with a new kitchen, two wonderful chefs, a refurbished dining room and great menu. We invite you to try The Black Harpoon. I don't think you will be disappointed! We have worked very hard to change the problems with the previous ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“definitely would go back”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

While in Port Clyde, there are not a whole lot of choices for dinner...and the Harpoon is a good option. It's usually busy, mostly locals which tells us that it's the place to go! The prices are a little high in my opinion, but definitely worth it. It's more of a sit-down and behave type of place, not as good for kids as others. BUT, it has a nice variety on the menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful meal”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was in walking distance from our B&B, The Ocean House,
which was nice. The meal was excellent, the sides were delicious, a wonderful vegetable rice and zucchini sides complemented a lightly blackened halibut.
The ambiance was laid back and unique. Service was excellent. Plan to return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mshorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Harpoon also viewed

Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
 
Tenants Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
 
Tenants Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Black Harpoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing