We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educational visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marshall Point Lighthouse Museum

Certificate of Excellence
El Campo, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Educational visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a small museum, but packed with info and history. The volunteer staff members are knowledgable and an endless source of history. Not on 'the beaten path', but well worth the drive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jazieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    58
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Run, Forrest! Run!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our friends parents have a home in Port Clyde so we stay every Fourth of July week. We love this Lighthouse and Museum. You can walk right out onto the lighthouse and the rocks surrounding, which is where we find a ton of sea glass- I even found Cranberry Colored Sea Glass here ( it was a very small piece, but awesome to find!!) The staff at the museum are locals who know their stuff. This was actually the lighthouse shown in the movie Forrest Gump when he is running across the country, he gets to the lighthouse, stops and then starts running back. They have memorabilia from Paramount Pictures and photos from the shoot.They also have the history of the lighthouse and its keepers and a cool little gift shop, which I love! It is really interesting to look and read through all of the info here.The views are breathtaking and this is a great photo spot. They are only equipped with a port-a-potty and there is no food or drink sold here. Rumor has it the road leading to the lighthouse is haunted by a boy named Ben, who caught old bootleggers unloading illegal liquor to the shore near light house in the 1920's, Ben was caught and killed and they say his spirit is still on Marshall Point Rd. Not sure how true this is...but I would not recommend going on this road at night,as it is narrow,dark, and spooky!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KAG121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Historic Special Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The little tour was informative. The gift shop was interesting and reasonably priced. Picture perfect!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice lighthouse at mouth of port Clyde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife was on the lighthouse tour kick. We drove to Port Clyde from Damariscotta area after a brief stop in Port Clyde. What impressed me the most is you can walk out to the lighthouse as well as the memorial to the commercial fishermen who have given their lives doing what they loved ( fishing). This was really moving to me. The museum is nice as well as the newspaper article inside on the Port Clyde Sardine Factory fire which destroyed one of two sardine processing factories in Maine. The staff of volunteers are very knowledgable.
Great afternoon as views can't be beat

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent museum with logbooks of anything pertaining to the area, lobstermen, lobstering, the sea. Beautiful setting by the Lighthouse and sea. The displays are mostly donated which speaks well if a community proud of their heritage.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marshall Point Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Owls Head, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Marshall Point Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing