We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best clams in Maine”
Review of Cap'n Doug's - CLOSED

Cap'n Doug's
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best clams in Maine”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

There's a darling beach around the corner. Get fried clams and take them there for a day you'll never forget

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
377 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent! Lobster roll - large of course!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We had carry out from Doug's Seafood ( the name on the door). A superb lobster roll, fresh meat, simply dressed - it comes in two sizes - regular and large. Splurge! We also had a shrimp roll and fries and onion rings. The onion rings are the sleeper. Well prepared and tasty. The whole meal was great. It's an easy roadside stop. Plenty of parking and you can eat there in a covered pavilion. It closes at 7 and is not open on Sunday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clyde, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A big thank you from the owners”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As one of the owners I'd like to thank everyone for the wonderful reviews. I see we are on tripadvisor twice, I'm not sure where the name Cap'n Doug's came from but it fits, the sign out front says Doug's Seafood. We appreciate all the great feed back and support from our customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andersons686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The lobster rolls were great and loaded with fresh lobster. The home made onion rings with a light crunchy batter were great. For the amount of food you get and how much lobster was in the rolls, the prices were reasonable. Would go back again next time in Maine!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped here for lunch before taking the ferry to Monhegan, based on Trip Advisor recommendations. It did not disappoint! Before we left we had a lobster roll and a crab roll, which were both awesome. We enjoyed it so much, we went directly there from the ferry upon our return from Monhegan, and we tried the clam strips and the scallop roll. Again, both were delish! Wish it was closer to home so we could go back again and again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Doug's also viewed

Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
 
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
 
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
Port Clyde, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing