We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
214
153
66
47
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
214
153
66
47
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oxford casino maine state golf weekend tennis courts front porch hiking trails grounds are beautiful putting green buffet style rocking chairs driving range beautiful golf course year after year cable tv mini golf the cottages bagels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 527 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2015

We went there to play the golf course and tour the facility. What we found (after playing & touring), was the rooms were adequate but some in need of renovation, the food looked appetizing, but the place is old, as it should be, it's probably one of the oldest resorts in the country. The golf course is relatively wide open, with some nice vistas, but only average conditioning. It appeared that, as the resort was busy, you would truly enjoy yourself if you were old enough for social security benefits.... not a crack ... just a true observation.
it was more expensive than I anticipated for a two night stay, (for a higher end room) .. however there is a deal worth considering ... called the "trifecta" ... two night stay, four meals, rounds of golf at Poland Springs (average), Spring Meadows (very good) and Fox Ridge (terrific) for $299 + taxes.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank undertaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

No, it wasn't a Shining-esque experience, but it is an old resort in Maine that skews towards an older clientele. I was there to see and spend time with family, and it was a nice venue for that. I'd say that the biggest downside was the room. I stayed at the Maine Inn (which I would say is the hub, since it's where you check in and where they serve breakfast and dinner). The room had quite a musty smell and, with the air conditioning, everything seemed to be cold and damp (the pillows on the bed felt quite damp). While it was quiet most of the time, I was surprised that I could still hear music from the dining room (both from a wedding reception and live entertainment that evening) even though the room was on the third floor. Also, during both nights of my stay, one of the nearby rooms had an alarm that went off at midnight both nights, and went on for at least fifteen minutes until it either shut itself off or someone shut it off (needless to say, the alarm clocks they provide are very, very loud and somewhat difficult to set). A little disappointed that the room came without a refrigerator, and the television was an old cathode ray tube model (though they did proudly state that they had cable). Also, make sure to bring your own amenities (including shampoo, since all you get is bar soap). There is also no iron, and no telephone.
The Wi-Fi is pretty atrocious, with only specific spots where you can get a successful connection (I found a basic Netgear wireless router in the library, which is designed for someone's home, and not for a large hotel, that's for sure). The upside is that there's 4G coverage if you want to use your own mobile plan.
The buffet is okay, pretty much what you'd expect - inoffensive for the most part, but with a couple of surprises (like a garbanzo bean salad that I quite enjoyed). Definitely not high-end dining, but great if you're with a group.
I did like the food at the Pro Shop - breakfast sandwiches downstairs in the early morning in case you can't make the hours for the buffet at the Maine Inn (which has an odd window of 8AM - 9:30AM). You can also have lunch at the cafe upstairs, which has good food.
I'm not a golfer, but many people seemed to go for the course, which I had heard was highly-esteemed. I did enjoy the pool, which is very big and not too crowded. It is a bit cold in the AM since the sun doesn't clear the trees for a few hours.
While most of the staff was pleasant enough (some were very nice), there were a few that didn't seem too happy to be there - there was some bickering at the front desk in plain view of the customers, a grouchy bartender one evening who didn't seem too pleased to give people drinks during happy hour and read the riot act regarding where you could take your drink (DON'T LEAVE THE BUILDING). I had heard from some of the "regulars", that numbers were dwindling, but there didn't seem to be any effort to entice new visitors to return.
For the most part, it is a quiet place that's nice if you want to do next to nothing on your vacation (of course, there is a casino nearby which I didn't visit, but is another draw for visitors). The regulars do seem to enjoy it, though, but I hope they do something to ensure its longevity.

Room tip: I think all the rooms are old and musty, but at least the ones at the Maine Inn are where the "action" is.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhinyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2015

Poland Springs Resort, once you arrive, does not pretend to be anything more than it is. Unfortunately, the "deluxe" accommodations as advertised was misleading. We turned down the first two rooms in the Presidential Inn as they were simply too dreary, too weary and too poorly appointed. The rooms that we finally had to settle on were only marginally better. When informed that I had to buy ice, there was no dispenser, I was also informed that "most people bring their own coolers". We were able to "borrow" hair dryers but shampoo and conditioner is not provided; a small bar of facial soap was included in the room. The rooms were clean, the linens cheap but also clean. The only saving grace was the Library (although it is a bit musty). We took it over as our "sitting room" as (a) there was insufficient room for four people to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in their room and (b) who would want to spend a minute more than you had to in those rooms? Fortunately, we were able to create a cozy corner for four to sit and enjoy a drink (although the signs posted say not to!) and have a quiet conversation. The Lobby, which is the only place where you get a decent Wifi signal (none available in the rooms -- nor are there any phones for the matter -- problematic for Canadians who don't want to pay roaming charges on their cellular) puts one in mind of a senior citizens' residence where everyone sits about waiting for the dinner bell.

Dinner, and breakfast too for that matter, are reminiscent of summer camp where every one sits at long common tables and helps themselves to the buffet. The buffet food was acceptable (actually had a really decent turkey dinner but who orders turkey dinner when they go out to dine?), but it is very limited. A choice of two main entrees, potato and a couple of veggies. Lots of dessert, plain cooking again, jello being a primary feature of every dessert table.

We stayed here as part of a "stay and play" golfing package. The State of Maine Tourism department and Golfers' Association would be well advised to find additional accommodations to entice people to come to Maine for golfing.

I guess what best sums up our experience is the comment that was made to the receptionist "please excuse all of our requests for items that you are not able to furnish; we usually stay in a better quality inn."

On the plus side, the golfing was enjoyable and the setting is lovely. The people are very friendly except for the woman determining sitting arrangements who was quite put out when we refused to join a single person sitting at the table we had been assigned. "You are supposed to mix and mingle" she informed us. "Yes, but we prefer to join people who know enough to remove their hat while dining" we replied. We were given our own table.

Room tip: If you must stay here stay in the Maine Inn so that you don't have to walk across number fifteen fairway to get to breakfast and dinner.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sherril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015

Poland Springs Resort does not tout itself as catering to those that bring their computers to do work while on vacation. If you are looking for a resort with all the bells and whistles, marble floors, Wi-fi connections, sauna, etc., this is not it. Although, there is centralized Wi-Fi in the main lobbies of each of the three major buildings. However, if you are looking for a relaxing, clean, resort with friendly staff and guests, this is the place. The rates are very reasonable, given the fact that home cooked meals are included with some of the packages. We have stayed in the Maine Inn and at the Presidential. We enjoyed them both. This is an extremely clean, but very dated furnished Inn, and that is what it is meant to be. So, again, don't come looking for 400 count sheets, down comforters and heated towel racks. There is a rich history with the 400+ acres. The sunsets are spectacular. The food at Hal's and Cindy's for lunch, very, very good. The menus in the main dining hall are posted. Come, bring a good book, sit on the rocking chairs on the deck, and just breathe in the fresh, mountain air. The pool is clean, the surroundings breathtaking. Get unplugged and just enjoy. Yes, most of the guests are 50 and above, but, there are families as well. We love it here. You can rent kayaks or canoes down the street at Cindy's for under $10 an hour....go to Oxford Casino, 1 hour from Sunday River, 40 mins. from North Conway, about 40 from Portland....go with the expectation that you will relax, and have fun. Stay unplugged and enjoy life as it should be. Simple. There aren't many places that you can get a full meal (or two) for the price of a $79 and up room! We were here for the fireworks on July 3rd...fantastic! Make sure to check out the Maine Wildlife Park...fantastic place with beautiful animals.

Room tip: If you are going to need help with your luggage, and you stay at the Presidential, get a first floor room. There are no elevators.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BowieMoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

We have gone every summer since 2011 & we are never disappointed. Great choices for lodging. Lots if history represented. Love the video telling the story of the Rickers. Entertainment is great. Pool is wonderful for all. Only a short drive to Casino and beaches. Two thumbs up from all of my family, even our 5, 8,10, 12 & 17 year old kids.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews