We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks more like a old camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poland Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to a wedding there. The room was dirty and asked to move second room worse. The wedding food was marginal and the service well it was a buffet. We were rushed out to make room for dining. Would not recommend this hotel far from a resort. Maybe in the 30"s.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rosario1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 358 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Lodge room at the Poland Spring Resort was very spartan, yet clean and comfy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is only a few miles from the Oxford Casino and offers a special casino rate of $79 on weekends. Breakfast was offered as part of the room but we went to a restaurant down the street called the "Egg-ceptional restaurant". It was.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went to the Oxford Casino in Oxford, Maine. Since this casino has no hotel, we decided to stay at the nearby Poland Spring Resort. The rooms were very clean and in order, just a little dated. A continental breakfast was included in the room rate. The motel overlooks a golf course and the grounds are beautiful. A very good room for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JazzyBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

this is not what we expected. Just a misscommunication I think we went to the casino on our way it was getting late when we arrived and were expecting to have a drink and something to eat to find out that the restaurant had just changed to its fall hours and was closed. we were disappointed so we chose not to stay and went on our way to Freeport. My suggestion when you call for a reservation that you check to see if the place is open to eat.
This is probably a great place to stay if you are just going to the casino. Jason was great at the front desk.

Room Tip: clean quiet close to casino double check on the restaurant may not be open
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was my first stay at this resort. I accompanied my parents (mid 80s) since its a long ride for them from CT. This was the 18th year that they have been coming to PSR. Honestly, I wasn't expecting very much. Thought it would be a resort for old-fogies. I was totally wrong! The majority of guests were in their 40s-60s, with a smattering of younger families and older folks. The resort grounds are beautiful - the sunsets from the sprawling front porch of the Inn are incredible. I didn't play golf or the other available games, but my Dad & I did some geocaching on the grounds so I did walk many of the lovely trails on the property. The bed was sooo comfortable, the cable tv was newer and worked fine. Yes, the Inn is a bit aged, but it is evident that the employees do their very best to make everyone comfortable and welcomed. I can't say enough good things about the customer service that we received during our stay! Our room was so quiet, even though it was the first room off the lobby and dining room. The walls must be made of cement because we never heard any noise from the room next door (which was occupied) nor from the lobby or dining room even on the nights that they had entertainment (a play one night and a brass band concert another night) in the dining room. The room was spotless. I always check to see if the top of armoires and headboards are dusted when I travel - usually they aren't - but ours at PSR were. Our housekeeper was a pleasure and mighty thorough. The bathroom sink & vanity were aged, but it was clean. The food was home-style, served buffet style, with lobster night on Wed. Every dinner offered 2 hot entrees with many side dishes and dessert offerings. Same thing with breakfasts. The dining room was clean, the tables always spotless. Yes, we ate at communal tables, but there was plenty of room to eat privately as well.

We took day trips to Freeport (home of LL Bean), Oxford Casino (new!), a boat trip on the Songo River Queen in Naples, and stops in many antique shops.

If you are looking for top of the line furnishings, meals, & surroundings then PSR is not for you. But if you are looking for a clean, quiet place to RELAX, enjoy good food, and take in the local beauty, then I would recommend a stay at PSR. We've already booked our week for next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 519 since it is near the dining room and my Mom needs a walker. We never heard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank StixnStonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

For the money, this is one of the best values around BUT there are considerations. The physical setting could not be more beautiful, overlooking both a golf course and mountains in the distance. The rooms are dated, the carpet a bit worn, however they are spotless. The food is good country fare - don't expect anything fancy. Everything is served buffet style. The staff is wonderful and friendly. They cater to an older group so if you're prepared for an adult summer camp, this is exactly what you'll get. That said, there are plenty of activities for children, the pool is great and there are hiking trails and the lake nearby. There is usually an afternoon family movie and plenty of games - ping pong, pool tables, board games. Nightly entertainment was good but again geared toward seniors.

We stayed in the Presidetial Inn (NO wi-fi) which is a 5 minute walk to the Maine Inn (has wi-fi). I'd avoid rooms B and PS3 (suite) as these are both near the entrance where people congregate to smoke. Otherwise, the building is non-smoking.

Bring your own toiletries and hair dryer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I went for a couples getaway the weekend of August 24. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews, but we ended up having an excellent time! Everything was exactly as described in the brochure. We stayed in the lodge, because we wanted cable tv. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The furnishings were not modern, although I don't think they are intended to be. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it was gorgeous, as were the grounds and the view of the sunset. The food was just ok, but there was plenty of it. We had a wonderful time browsing the old library, riding our bikes on the trails, and visiting the casino. This is a great, inexpensive getaway for anyone who doesn't expect anything fancy. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank challengergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poland Springs
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
155 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
3.5 mi away
Wolf Cove Inn
Wolf Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Poland
180 reviews
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poland Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poland Spring Resort

Address: 640 Maine St, Poland Springs, ME 04274-6193
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Poland Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Price Range: $74 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poland Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poland Spring Resort offers a stress free vacation in Maine. Delicious all-you-can-eat home-style buffets. Play on our 18-hole championship golf course, grass tennis courts, swimming, boating, hiking, nightly entertainment, min-golf, driving range and much more. Enjoy the sunset with a million dollar panoramic view of Presidential Mountain range and Mount Washington. Centrally located in the foothills of Western Maine and stress free since 1794. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Poland Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poland Spring Hotel Poland Springs
Poland Spring Springs
Poland Spring Resort Poland Springs, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing