We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poland Spring Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
130
117
49
33
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
117
49
33
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxford casinomaine stategame roomsan older crowdnightly entertainmenthiking trailstennis courtsfront porchlike stepping back in timelots of historyrocking chairsbuffet stylegolf weekendputting greencolumbus day weekendminiature golfdriving range
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 369 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Poland Springs is a resort with breakfast and a buffet dinner included with golf, hiking, shuffle board, horse shoes, boating options, entertainment and more.I especially enjoyed the ceramics class. The food was plentiful, not gourmet, but more than adequate. On the grounds there is the Poland Spring Water facility with tour. The Maine State Museum is really a gem. Near by are the Maine Wildlife Refuge (another must see), a Shaker Village and McLaughlin Gardens. The resort has recently allowed children, however there was just 3-5 children during our week stay. The price was very very resonable (a very good value).

Room Tip: There 3 buildings, the main building (where the meals are served and entertainment is located),the presidential suite (where the movies are shown, library and varies games) and the lodge (where we stayed which was about a 1/4 mile from the main building) This really didn't pose any inconvience.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hiker53nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our vacation at Poland spring was wonderful. We met a wonderful mix of people, enjoyed the food, the shows, the nearness to Portland, Freeport, Naples, Booth Bay Harbor. We've been visiting the Inns at Poland Spring annually for several years. We love it, but realize it's not for everyone. It's mostly older, retired couples but we enjoyed spending time and hearing great stories from the people we met who have been going there for years! It is worth the eight-hour car ride for us to get there.

Children were not allowed until a couple of years ago but there were several well-behaved children during the last week of August 2011 while we were there. Yes, it could offer more modern comforts but it was good value for the price and it is nice to feel the down home hospitality of the Maine people. It reflects its motto " Stress free zone " and that is rare to find in today's more hectic lifestyle. We can’t wait to spend a week again there next July.

There are many activities if you want them. There is the beautifully maintained golf course, and rare, grass tennis courts. You can enjoy the putting green, the golf driving range, Bocce Ball, Shuffle Board, swimming, movies, Ceramic Classes, and some sort of entertainment every night. You can go down the road to their newly acquired Dockside Restaurant, and enjoy boating on the lake. The local band that comes to entertain us on Thursday nights is the best!! They always have a special program that includes honoring all the Veterans. If you want to just relax, the most beautiful front porch lined with rockers and Adirondack chairs allow you to do just that while enjoying an incredible view! A real bonus was watching the sunset some nights from the rocking chairs on the Main Inn Veranda. Peaceful, calming gorgeous!

An easy way to describe the food is wholesome, home-style food. It's not a five star restaurant, but it is fresh and delicious, lots of choices and plenty of it! The Lobster was fresh and delicious, but you had other choices if lobster wasn’t your choice. Breakfast is very good. I saw many reviewers who hated the fact that they were "forced" to sit with people they didn't know at breakfast and dinner. We thought that was one of the best things about it. We met so many wonderful people, and enjoyed every meal and the discussions we had over breakfast and dinner. We met a wonderful couple from Pennsylvania who sat at our table and the man we vacation with had the added pleasure of playing golf with the man we just met. They enjoy golf and this golf course is just beautiful as designed by Donald Ross and has some spectacular views through the pines and across ponds. It is the type of golf course that you want to play over again and better your score.

Yes, the place is a little bit older, but that's the charm of it. The Poland Spring Resort is not about competing with the Ritz or other fancy place, nor do they claim to be. What they claim to be is a fun and friendly resort located in a beautiful location with a long and interesting history and tradition and taking the time to do their brief tour is well worth the hour spent. If you can't see that, then again, it is your loss.

Some of the furniture is a little old, not like a modern hotel. From what we saw, things are being updated each and every year and I believe that to be true. They now have color TVs in every room, but we didn’t have time to watch much. The beds were very comfortable. The place was clean with friendly maid service. This is an experience you should not miss out on! There is no place that we have ever visited that gets you more for your money! Our married son and his wife stayed at Poland Springs a week with us one summer and traveled to several places further away. They gave up a day and night at the resort, but where can you go for a vacation at such a reasonable price, with entertainment, food, everything pretty much included, so they kept their room as a main base, enjoying the resort and the day and overnight trips they took.

They also have an interesting policy. Buying their souvenir coffee mug will allow you free refills of coffee, tea, lemonade, etc. from any of the snack bars for the rest of your stays at the resort. We’ve had our mugs since 1996. What a bargain that has been!

With regards to the staff, they couldn't have been better. Every one of them was friendly, courteous, helpful, polite, and awesome! I wouldn't change a thing. People, who in earlier reviews complained about the staff, couldn’t have gone to the same place we did, nor did they encounter the same people we did!

Room Tip: We have always enjoyed staying at the Presidential Inn. Request a room on the first or second floor unless you are young.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eliz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I won a gift certificate to this place in a silent auction charity event and were looking forward to really nice golf vacation during peak foliage season. We should have known this was not going to go well from the start when we tried to book the weekend. My husband had to argue with reservation manager to use the certificate on Columbus day weekend and were only able to use the certificate after agreeing to pay a $65 pp/night surplus charge. We arrived on Friday only to find that we were by far the youngest people on the property (except for the teenage staff working at the counter), all the other guests were easily over 75. This normally would not have bothered us if it were not for the atmosphere which made us feel like we were in a depressing nursing home! Still determined to be positive about this we checked in and went down the hill to the Presidential Inn and our "deluxe" room. I have no idea what made this room deluxe, the Inn smelled musty, the room was on the second floor with no elevator. (I have no idea how most of the elderly clientele can get up there). The room itself was relatively clean but had not been updated since 1920, there was a chenille bedspread on the bed, I have not seen one of those since my grandmother passed away. There were no basic hotel amenities at all, no phone, no blow drier, no shampoo. One of the improvements for 2011 listed in their brochure was "TOWELS now available in every room!!!" Even after seeing all of this we decided to stay the night and play golf in the morning. We arrived at the breakfast buffet in the morning to find a very depressing open function room with old tables and cheap function hall style chairs. The food was barely adequate, but it's hard to screw up breakfast. The plates and cups were 1960's style plastic camp equipment. The golf course was nice and had some really great views but even after that my husband and I could not look forward to the "supper" and the thought of doing so made me sick. We checked out early and after this experience would only recommend this place to someone who truly ticked me off.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This place has had the least effort put into its upkeep that I have ever encountered. Even the motel/crackhouse that I stayed in in Baltimore had at least had its walls painted in the last decade. This place smells like 50 years of cigarette smoke. I figured that there would be complimentary bottled water at $160/night but they couldn't even provide the rooms with telephones or alarm clocks. In the folder they provided detailing the efforts they are putting into upgrading their establishment, they crowed about now "having towels in ALL the rooms"!

We were booked for two nights but decided within hours that we would leave and stay at the motel down the road. Unfortunately any cancellations must be done 30 days in advance.

Avoid this place like the plague because you might just get it here.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Thanks to Trip Advisor for introducing this resort to us. Nothing to comlain about. We really had a week full of relaxation and joy. This is such a heaven on earth, I have never seen these natural settings and landscapes since I was a boy in my grandpa’s farm. I would recommend this place for holidays and their saving-money 7-day package. Great value!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zaharasuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews