We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views but could use some cleaning/updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermit Island

Hermit Island
Attraction details
Upton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome views but could use some cleaning/updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

First time visiting Hermit Island Campground and the views are spectacular. We had a "ocean prime" site which was a bit pricey considering there is no water or electric on your site, but the site was spacious and semi-private. The campground takes cash and checks only so be prepared, although they do have an ATM machine in the store. The store has many items that you would need camping, but is again pricey. I suggest purchasing firewood on the road leading up to the campground as it is only $3 a bundle instead of $5.25 at the store and you get more firewood in the bundles away from the campground. Biggest drawback was the restrooms, which were filthy most of the time. The showers are free and have warm water but are very small and not clean so you don't want to touch the sides at any point during your shower. The mosquitos weren't bad near the ocean sites, but the flies bite and seem completely unaffected by bugspray so be prepared. Overall a nice place to camp.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryAnne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    5
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warner, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“There is nothing like it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have done other beach side camping but there is nothing like this. You really get a beach here unlike other campgrounds you get tidal pools and marsh lands. We love the sound of the ocean, the bouys, and the lobster boats going out. We prefer to go off peak season for I hear it can be loud. And if the ocean is not your thing. Camp on the other side of the campground and enjoy woodland sites.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nobody's Crabby Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is such an interesting place, so many nooks and crannies to explore. We stayed for two nights and spent some time at one of the island's beaches, sand-dollar beach. It was in a nice cove that allowed the kids to explore and swim. It's a very big island with many campsites and it seemed like many campers drove to the showers or the rec hall. We even had to drive to the beach we visited. I personally want to park and get away from the car but the island is much bigger than what I pictured. We love this part of Maine and spend most of our time at Popham Beach, but I'm not sure if we will use Hermit Island as our home base again. Not a thing wrong with this cool campground maybe just a touch too big for me.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NEnglandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice campground with tons of options.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the campground for one night in July. Our site was Harbor Grove #25. It was a "choice site" for $40, which I think was a bit high considering it was water front only during high tide....at low tide there was a view of the mucky area of the inlet. Also, it wasn't a very private site. I do like that the website has a picture of almost all of the over 200 sites on the island. There are several beaches - one I believe is only used by the campground and the other is public, but still not very crowded at all. They only take check or cash so come prepared! I think it was a very cool campground - some sites along the beach, some very secluded, most of them nicely wooded. We would go back in the future and probably get one of the more woodsy, secluded sites.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank monsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent beach camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Hermit Island is excellent beach camping. The sites are nice in size and there are numerous bathroom and water facilities. The infrastructure of the place is dated an fairly well maintained. The beaches are beautiful and the island is private so it never feels too crowded. It is on the pricey side for tent camping but the location is what you are paying for. We love it there and we return every year!

Helpful?
1 Thank rchriste170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermit Island also viewed

 

Been to Hermit Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing