We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serenity and nature”
View of Sunrise Beach Cottage from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Sunrise Beach Cottage from the beach
View of cove from living room window Top floor living room with dining table, fireplace and sliders to deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
View of Sunrise Beach Cottage from the beach
View of cove from living room window
Top floor living room with dining table, fireplace and sliders to deck
Master bedroom with water views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Phippsburg, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serenity and nature”
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first stay at Sunrise Beach Cottage. This place was an improvement over past lodgings. From the outside it appears unassuming, but we were pleasantly surprised at its well kept condition. Inside appeared to be all new. If not new, then very well kept! It was impeccable! We stayed on the lower floor and had access to the large deck and the beautiful scenery only Maine can offer. Pine trees, ocean water, golden red sunrises, fresh crisp air, birds chirping... this property is perfectly situated to offer all of these. Every window revealed this scenic view.

Since we traveled early in the season, the water was too cold for swimming, but I did enjoy wading knee-deep in the gentle waves of the inlet. Aside from an abundance of marine seaweed, the water was relatively clear. Locals indicated this level of seaweed growth is not common, but I had no problem walking on it. During high tide, the beach is not accessible as it is submerged in 3 or so feet of water, but when it recedes, you can enjoy the soft sand.

Access to the beach can be a bit challenging for an older person, but my 70 year old in-law managed. There are steps down to the beach that ends at a large rock. You can walk along the rock onto the sand, but it will require a small jump. My in-law got around that by walking to the back, closer to the tree. I only wish I had a canoe or raft to paddle in the water. I was told the property will offer that in the summer. Since we plan to return in September, I'm looking forward to using the rafts on the water.

For a small hike we walked over to the nearby town of West point. A sleepy fishing village. The town has a shop that sold live lobsters at $7 per pound. I think this was the highlight for my wife! She bought 2; and before our return trip home, she bought half dozen "to go". If you plan to do the same, bring a cooler-type bag or container.

I've shared some pictures. Most are of the property. Except the red and green light is from west point and the golden sunset is from Spinney's, the restaurant recommended in the amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorraine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our family had a fabulous 2 week vacation at this lovely spotless home. This home is obviously well cared for and was much more comfortable and well equipped than other homes we have rented in the area. The views are terrific and it was such a nice way to wake up in the morning. There is nothing better than
sitting on the deck watching the sun set over the water while eating lobster rolls!

There was something for everyone in the 3 generations of our family - from swimming at the private beach only steps from the house, to shopping in Freeport, to dining and golfing at Sebasco Harbor Resort, to exploring Popham Beach, Portland and Booth Bay Harbor. Great little ice cream shop at the resort too.
We can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen G
Merrick, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We love Maine, and Sunrise Beach Cottage offers all the best of it-beautiful views over the water, proximity to great activities and shopping. The cottage itself is very comfortable and beautifully maintained. It's great to be able to walk right down to the water, or sit on the deck and just enjoy the peace and beauty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellagirl...
New Jersey, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home with amazing private beach”
Reviewed November 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The location of this home is truly spectacular with its own private sandy beach and gorgeous views of the ocean and cove. My kids loved being able to run down to the beach play in the water and explore the tide pools, whether first thing in the morning or during happy hour while the adults were watching them from the deck. The water in the cove was always crystal clear, calm and a little warmer than the open ocean.

The home itself was immaculate and wonderfully appointed with everything we needed from the comfy beds to the great living spaces. It has been a long time since my children found the outdoors more alluring than their electronics- but we had plenty of old fashioned family fun on this trip. At the end of the day, we were always able to unwind and enjoy the comfortable living areas and modern amenities (TV and WiFi) inside the home. I enjoyed cooking in the state of the art kitchen that had everything we needed, but appreciated the close proximity to Sebasco Harbor Resort, where we dined, visited the spa and golfed. It was like we had the best of both worlds- a great beachfront home to enjoy as well as the amenities of the resort. Loved the kayaking with Seaspray kayaking too!

Popham Beach and Totman Cove were stunningly beautiful and I highly recommend them both. Due to the changing tide and Morse river at Popham beach, the landscape changes daily and is fun to explore during low and high tides. My kids loved walking out to Fox Island on Popham at low tide!

This home was a perfect jumping off point for many day excursions as well.. Even though we planned out our trip and tried to take on new adventures each day- we weren't able to come close to crossing off everything we wanted to see and do. Our whole family is looking forward to returning next summer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing