We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at 1774 Inn”
Review of 1774 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1774 Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Phippsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2013

In mid July, 2013, my husband and I stayed for two nights, at this most beautiful inn at Phippsburg. The inn was immaculately clean, and decorated in an elegant, restrained style. The property faces the water, and is in a particularly beautiful corner on the Phippsburg peninsula. We spent a lovely half hour one evening sitting in the Adirondack chairs close to the shore, on the property.

We stayed in the McCobb room, which is very large; the bathroom is small, but perfectly fine. Good water pressure, and lots of hot water for showers. We chose the room because it is on a corner of the building, and thus has cross-ventilation.

The hosts, John and Jackie, are British, and perfectly charming! We all chatted amongst ourselves, about why my husband and I were in Maine (answer: an exploratory visit to see where we might bring our small 14-foot trailered sailboat on another visit; need a place with a LOT of room on the property, where no one else would be inconvenienced by a sailboat on a trailer, left off while we go out to dinner, or on another trek. And a place where we would think it safe to leave a trailered boat.)

A lot of discussion, with John, about tides (vastly important for launching and recovering a small boat, most particularly on the Maine coast, where the tide range is truly astounding) Both mornings we stayed, John printed out local tide charts for us; I recount this tale to give all interested parties an illustration of the kindness of these folks. They pay very close attention to the interests of their guests. And respond!

Breakfasts were great: a buffet of various breads, fresh fruit salads, nifty granola and Greek yogurt, nice juice.... And, then, there's a main course: when we were staying, there was an egg and ham timbale, on a muffin, one day; and next day, a poached egg on an herb muffin, with bacon and sausage; and a very English grilled tomato half, with a bit of cheese (took me back to my memories of a favorite inn in the Lake District, in England!) All this is way more than I can eat for breakfast; made the mistake the first day of having some of my favorite raisin bread with cream cheese - and then couldn't finish the main course! My husband helped me out with this...as he did the next day...

Room Tip: We chose the McCobb room because it had cross-ventilation, and because the previous weeks had been v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the 1774 Inn. Like other reviewers, we stayed during the recent heat wave and our room was hot. However, with the provision of a well positioned fan, we had two very comfortable nights sleep. The standard of housekeeping was very high with every detail being attended to. After 10 days of holiday staying in chain hotels, the 1774 Inn was a refreshing change. You couldn't ask for a nicer location or more welcoming Inn keepers.

Room Tip: We were travelling as a family and opted for the two cheaper rooms with a shared bathroom. It worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was a return visit for us. The home is beautifully restored and decorated. The rooms are large and comfortable. The Inn is situated on the Kennebec River. In the late afternoon, there are often seals sunning themselves on the rocks.The Inn is immaculately clean and the linens are indeed fresh and our towels had a lovely smell to them. Jackie serves a delicious and beautifully presented breakfast in a lovely formal dining room.She also makes great chocolate chip cookies.She really makes you feel at home. The location is beautiful and relaxing. Popham Beach is nearby, as is a great "swimming hole" , a 2 minute walk from the Inn.Yes, there is no A/C , but this is Maine, where A/C is not often needed, and it was unusually hot. There was a fan in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dslmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The 1774 Inn is a beautifully updated and decorated old home in a stunning location. However, we left sorely disappointed. Most glaring, there is no air conditioning in the Inn, and our room felt like an oven. Our linens did not smell or feel fresh (bed or bath), the flowers in the bath were fake, the patio could have been a beautiful spot for breakfast but is in disrepair. Our breakfast was decent, to be sure, but not gourmet. If we hadn't stayed in other, much better, bed and breakfasts (for a lot less money), we may have thought it was fine. But there was so much over-looked. The hosts were very understanding about the heat, and very kind during
our stay, but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCSenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had been wanting to stay in this inn for some time and was lucky enough to get in this weekend. We arrived late and Jackie made sure she greeted us and showed used to our amazing room. Every aspect was perfect. You can tell the love and care they have put into the property. Breakfast was quite lovely and we were given great suggestions of how to spend out day! We would go back again in a heartbeat!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the woodshed. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anajap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The 1774 Inn is what B&Bs are all about. It is an historic home that has been converted to a comfortable Inn. The owners are friendly and gracious ... not to mention excellent cooks. This part of Maine is unspoiled by over-development . The beaches are beautiful, the restaurants friendly and reasonably-priced, and it's a great place for an escape from our hectic lives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently spent a wonderful couple of days staying at this very special, beautifully restored colonial house. The peaceful setting on the Kennebec River was matched by the warmth and graciousness of our hosts, and the sumptuous breakfasts were a treat. While lounging on the rear porch, we watched as seals lounged on the rocks and an osprey and bald eagle
hunted for food. The Phippsburg peninsula is very lovely and unspoiled-a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of more populated, touristy locations and experience the essence of coastal Maine. The next trip to the state will certainly include a return visit to The 1774 Inn to enjoy Jackie and John's hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6513vln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phippsburg
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
7.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
7.9 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
238 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1774 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1774 Inn

Address: 44 Parker Head Rd, Phippsburg, ME 04562-4576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Phippsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phippsburg
Price Range: $195 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1774 Inn, Midcoast Maine's award-winning waterfront bed and breakfast location, near Bath and Brunswick Maine close to Popham Beach State Park. 45 mins from Portland and accessible from New York and Boston by road. Eight elegant and spacious guestrooms in this historic mansion with water views from the main house. Its English owners, John and Jackie, focus on excellence in guest service and the delicious breakfast menu features locally sourced organic produce. This beautiful Inn combines contemporary comfort with classic elegance. Activities nearby are lighthouse tours, boating, swimming, kayaking, golfing, sailing, lobster bakes, antiquing, shopping in nearby Freeport, hiking and dining with a wide choice of restaurants offering varied cuisine nearby. For a real Maine vacation experience that is truly unforgettable come to the 1774 Waterfront Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your 1774 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1774 Inn Phippsburg, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing