We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in an amazing property with truly excellent hosts”
Review of 1774 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1774 Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Phippsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I have visited and stayed in small inns and bed & breakfasts across the US and Europe. Our stay at The 1774 Inn was truly special, a once in a lifetime experience - except that we can't wait to go there again!

We stayed at the Inn for a short break in September with friends of ours during a road trip through the Northeast. John and Jackie are gracious and friendly hosts - you can tell how much they love this property, their role as innkeepers, and this area of Maine. They always had good ideas for daily itineraries, places to eat, etc.

The inn is absolutely amazing - tastefully decorated with an elegant, yet very comfortable style that is a perfect compliment to this historic property. With views of the Kennebec River from the back lawn - we saw seals at play several mornings while enjoying our coffee - the 1774 inn was the perfect place for us to forget our cares and relax.

Speaking of the coffee, this brings me to the breakfasts - Jackie and John set a gracious and delicious table! Freshly baked breads daily, locally produced jams and honey, yogurt, granola, fresh juices, and good coffee are all available buffet-style. The first morning, I made the mistake of filling my plate with these offerings and stuffing myself almost too full for the hot entree - a tasty omelette-like strata of cheese, egg, mushrooms, zucchini, and peppers. Every morning we ate an equally delicious breakfast, and Jackie was very willing to accommodate requests - one of our party had dietary restrictions. The lobster scrambled eggs on our last morning will be one of my favorite meals for a very long time... especially since we saw the fresh lobsters being delivered!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOVABrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for 1774 Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 132 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Recent stay in the fall.Lovely colonial house.Hosts Jacqueline and John made us feel very at home.Enjoyed the hot drink on arrival.Beautifully decorated.Best breakfast I have had.Superb food.Lemon bread delicious.Would not hesitate to stay again and would recommend it highly.Wonderful views of the river from the large garden
Kim and fiona

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We heartly recommend the 1774 Inn in Phippsburg. The location is wonderful, the house and garden are very beautiful. Rooms are individually furnished with antiques and one can not top the hospitality and kindness of the hosts John and Jackie. Breakfast is delicious and varies every day. John and Jackie also give helpful insider recommendations concerning restaurants and places to see. We are from Germany and stayed there in October enjoying every day. Surely, we will come back!

Room Tip: Every room ist beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a beautiful, airy New Engalnd home/luxury B&B. The waterfront views are stunning, the welcome from the owners could not be better. The breakfast is pretty good too ! The Inn is a short drive from a quiet beach and the nearest town - Bath - has arange of intereresting shops and places to eat. As part of a New England tour, it is well worth a night or more in this lovely location.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably comparable
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First, I was impressed by the innkeeps and owners, Jackie and John. They were warm, friendly and knowledgeable. Then, the inn itself on a spectacular setting with a lawn stretching down to the picturesque Kinnebec River. The rooms in the main house are large and gracious with private baths. I hope your there when they serve their delicious blueberry pancakes.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear have a view of the river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have to raise my glass and tip my hat to John and Jackie for their beautiful 1774 Inn. It's a spectacular location and the hospitality and amenities are unsurpassed. The interior is almost museum quality and restored/decorated to perfection. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and the bed was heavenly. The breakfasts are sensational and the accommodating and helpful planning with regards to the surrounding area and activities was so reassuring and appreciated. Such an impressive and gorgeous area of Maine. From the welcome walk through and history lesson to the farewell it was a wonderful experience. Even made our reservations for our dinners. The grounds are so simple but beautiful. The magic happened at night when you stroll outside to sit on the strategically placed adirondack chairs on the lawns and look at the stars. It was like being at a planetarium. The moon reflecting off the river added an extra touch. I could not have felt more welcome, relaxed and pampered. John and Jackie have mastered the art of Inn-keeping and making sure everyone is comfortable and want for nothing. I look forward to my next visit...and there will be a next time for sure. Well done you two.

Room Tip: Every room had something of value...some river facing, others the trees...but all warm and full of l...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

John and Jackie own a wonderful 18th century inn on the banks of the Kennebec river. Their hospitality is un-surpassed. You really come to understand how friendly and attentive hosts can add huge value to a stay. We spent two nights, September 17 and 18 in the Woodshed Room. We loved the room's rustic feel and the relaxing porch with an unobstructed view of the Kennebec and Goat Island. Breakfast was a perfect blend of British and American fare served in both formal and casual dinning rooms. We could have spent a week just sitting on the lawn next to the river reading and playing. Make sure you visit Spinney's Restaurant at Popham Beach for fresh lobster and North Creek Farm for lunch.

Room Tip: Go to 1774.com for reviews of the rooms. The Woodshed Room for the sunrise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbzspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phippsburg
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
7.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
378 reviews
7.9 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
233 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1774 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1774 Inn

Address: 44 Parker Head Rd, Phippsburg, ME 04562-4576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Phippsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phippsburg
Price Range: $195 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1774 Inn, Midcoast Maine's award-winning waterfront bed and breakfast location, near Bath and Brunswick Maine close to Popham Beach State Park. 45 mins from Portland and accessible from New York and Boston by road. Eight elegant and spacious guestrooms in this historic mansion with water views from the main house. Its English owners, John and Jackie, focus on excellence in guest service and the delicious breakfast menu features locally sourced organic produce. This beautiful Inn combines contemporary comfort with classic elegance. Activities nearby are lighthouse tours, boating, swimming, kayaking, golfing, sailing, lobster bakes, antiquing, shopping in nearby Freeport, hiking and dining with a wide choice of restaurants offering varied cuisine nearby. For a real Maine vacation experience that is truly unforgettable come to the 1774 Waterfront Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your 1774 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1774 Inn Phippsburg, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing