We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Peaks Island House

Peaks Island House
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
245 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently had a very nice dinner with family at The Peaks Island House. We have been there several times previously and have never been disappointed. The food has always been very good and the view from the outside seating deck is wonderful. I have tried many of their seafood dishes - lobster and the fried clam dinner are always good choices. I have also found the service to be excellent during our visits.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyo62003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
530 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great summer dinner overlooking the bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Peaks Island House is prime real estate a short walk from the ferry landing on Peaks Island in Maine. The restaurant has a outdoor patio overlooking Casco Bay and Portland, Maine. Sunset occurs right in front of you.
The menu is moderately priced with a good range of selections, especially seafood.
I had NY Sirloin as I was seafooded out and it was delicous. My friends had a wide variety of seafood and loved it.
A full bar and great service made this night wonderful.
Loved it!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRVEGAS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at Peaks Island House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great view, friendly staff, but just average food. They have added some very good microbrews on tap since we last ate there several years ago.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mchall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great food and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Try the salmon and corn chowdah if you can get it. Drink specialties are also quite good. Service is fine and you can watch the sun set over Portland.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kalonymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Underwhelming experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stopped by in the afternoon of July 25 to make reservations, and were told to arrive by 6 PM to be assured of outdoor seating because several larger groups (our party was 4 adults and 2 pre-teens) would be coming around 7. So we arrived at 6, ordered drinks and dinner all at once. Next we waited...and waited... and waited. More than an hour later - still no food. The waitress brought us a basket of rolls to "help with the hunger." But 3 of the 6 rolls were hard frozen and not edible. The waitress brought 3 more. Finally, after 1 hour 20 minutes, the meal arrived. It was a simple meal: burgers on cold buns with fries for 4 of us and two scallop dishes for the other two. The french fries were warm and crispy, and were thus the highlight of the meal.

At no point were all the outdoor tables full. There was no line waiting to get in. There was no explanation for the appallingly slow service and mediocre food. Was this the cook's night off? Is this what happens when there is no competition? To add insult to injury, when the $133 tab arrived at the table (we later had to stand up and start to leave to get someone to pick up the tab) a 20% tip had been added on top of "all above" including taxes. This was mentioned on the menu, so we can't say we didn't know it was coming. By the way, AmEx is not accepted.

Far from being a hoped-for highlight of a week's stay on Peaks, this visit to Peaks Island House was one of the few low points - in spite of the lovely evening weather and the view. Perhaps the cook was sick or didn't show up. Perhaps this was an isolated incident. We just don't know. But we do know that we won't be back until there some indication by others that the place is being managed by a responsible adult. Nobody expects perfection at a relaxed seasonal island restaurant, but this was very disappointing. In retrospect, we should have simply hopped the ferry over to Portland for dinner and returned later - just or stayed home. The view is nice but there are dozens of nice views on Peaks.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FortPondMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peaks Island House also viewed

 
Peaks Island, ME
 

Been to Peaks Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing