We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well done, professionl quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 5th Maine Museum

5th Maine Museum
Attraction details
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very well done, professionl quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

many historic artifacts and professional staff, clean well-run, i9ncludes all of islands history including world war two. clean, easy to follow

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wish I had spent more time, but an afternoon rain came up, and we had to catch the ferry. This seemed like one of those places which seem simple, but can stand up to some digging around. I would have loved to check out the personal accounts in the library. Obviously well-cared for in a beautiful location, it is worth the walk from the ferry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaks Island, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not only Civil War.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Don't expect your visit to be only exhibits relating to the 5th Maine during the Civil War. The museum also tells the story about Peaks Island during WWII. Much to learn and see. If you can peg down the Curator you'll learn every detail. She is a born and bred Peaks Islander.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frederick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma.
Level Contributor
285 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A nice history lesson.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

While on our walk around the island with some friends we visited the 5th to show them the civil war memorabilia they have on display. The woman running the museum then brought us upstairs and we told us a detailed history of the island. You wouldn't think a small unassuming island would have such such a fascinating history, but between her talk and the collection of old pictures we learned about the history of the island. It was wonderful and I will be sure that all my firends who visit Peaks visit this little museum. I've also been to a wedding there. Beautiful spot!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ricka..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peaks island 5th maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We arrived here by peaks island tours via golf cart great tour and history of the island, apparently owners are the same and a must do when on the island

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CtNoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5th Maine Museum also viewed

 

Been to 5th Maine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing