We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Family Outage”
Review of Peaks Island Tours

Peaks Island Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
“Excellent Weekend Family Outage”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Last Saturday the family enjoyed a wonderful tour of Peaks Island with owner Steve MacIsaac! Beautiful weather, personal stories and a good dose of historical island trivia. Could not have asked for anything better:)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trogow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    11
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views of Peaks!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fantastic tour of the island. You can really get to see a lot of the island in under 2 hours. Our tour guide John was very knowledgeable and did a great job giving us the history of the island. Highly recommend the tour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, historically interesting tour of the island!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband, 8 year old twins and I enjoyed the most wonderful tour of Peaks Island on August 1st with our tour guide "John". He was so full of incredible facts and dates with historical pictures of the past it was amazing! John made it interesting for both the adults and children on the tour. We would not have gotten anywhere near the information about the island if we had simply chosen to rent a bike or a golf cart on our own. It was a beautiful day, great company and I learned something! Now that's a great tour! Love the island, residents and our tour guide. Thanks a million, John. We will be back and recommend this tour to everyone I know. The Palmer Family

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“personal touch”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I had heard that the island was charming, but after a short walk around, we were underwhelmed. We were lucky enough, without reservations, to jump into a group with two open spots. What we learned was that Dan was an excellent host and captivating tour guide. Having a local conduct the tour allowed us glimpses into island life that would not be found in a guide book, and Dan gave us all kinds of little bits of information about the transformations the island has gone through on a large scale and on a smaller, recent scale. He was engaging and open the entire time, and the island is a fascinating little jewel. When an afternoon rain storm came up and trapped us in the Fifth Maine Memorial, he even called his daughter to pick us up in a car to take us to the ferry stop. You wont find that kind of personal attention most places, but Dan always treated us like welcome guests in his house.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great way to see the island!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Once you arrive on the island you have a choice of walking around, taking this golf cart tour, or renting a bike. We opted for the golf cart tour and it was excellent. I am sure I saw much more of the island than if we had rented a bike or walked around. Our guide was very knowledgeable and the tour lasted at least 90 minutes. She shared so much local information and we got out a few times-once to check out a museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 614foodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peaks Island Tours also viewed

 

Been to Peaks Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing