We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXHIBITS CHANGE OFTEN”

Owls Head Transportation Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Owls Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring a world-class, operating collection of antique ground vehicles, engines and aircraft the Owls Head Transportation Museum is open seven days a week, year-round. Exhibits include "Faster: The Quest for Speed" featuring racing vehicles from some of New England's premiere collections. Visit to see the collection or plan to attend one of our fantastic summer events where collection pieces are demonstrated for the public.
upstate new york
Level Contributor
256 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“EXHIBITS CHANGE OFTEN”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This museum is incredible for the "motorheads" in the family. The facility is immaculate, the exhibits are incredible and they change as often as they can. A great experience, even if you are NOT a motorhead. There is such beauty to be seen in the exhibits.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    42
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cars and Planes”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I never saw so many antique cars and planes in mint condition--and at such a low price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Something for a rainy day”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We've been traveling to the area since the kids were small, but one summer we had 6 straight days of rain and were running out of things to do so we tried this museum. For people who are really interested in this subject the collection is pretty amazing. There are an impressive amount of cars, planes, and carriages of every vintage. Although this is not really my cup of tea, it was worth the visit and kept school-age children occupied for an hour or two in bad weather.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic Autos & Airplanes”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place is an ***World Class*** collection of rare & VERY unusual antique cars, trucks, motorcycles, airplanes & much more. Great for all ages, In summer & fall are weekend shows--visit site for details. I never tire of the place & I live nearby.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, ME
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you like cars and planes this is your place”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This museum is located next to the Knox County Airport so they frequently fly the antique planes out of there. A couple of weeks ago I attended a "muscle car" show where anyone with a car older than 1992 can bring it to show. They have a large lot where you can walk around and view the cars. Bring a picnic lunch. Inside, the museum is wonderful. Currently they have a large exhibit of classic MGs and mini cars.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owls Head Transportation Museum also viewed

Owls Head, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Owls Head Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing