We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owls Head General Store

Owls Head General Store
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Owls Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: Very small family run general store and restaurant serving the famous "best burger in the Midcoast area", chowder, crab melts, pizza and much more!
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is one of those places you read about and then spend an hour trying to find! (Follow the signs for the Owls Head Lighthouse Park!)

Definitely down home Maine. Great sandwiches and homemade desserts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jean_likes_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    32
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
407 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“The best burger in the country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Owl's Head General Store has certainly the best burger in Maine and probably the best anywhere. It's judged by the the number of napkins required to eat one and it is usually about 7-8. Really, it's just that juicy. Try the pies as well. All of the food is fresh, home cooked and yummy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NWRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The Way Life Should BE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a sweet little place...the food is inventive, wholesome, sumptuous and very good--flavor, plating, eye appeal....everything is good--The Burgers are pretty much legendary, and the people are friendly. But you know what makes this a sure bet? The locals love it. And that's the best endorsement any establishment can enjoy. Forget the Rockland Cafe...take a drive and enjoy a little of the off the beaten track side of Maine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BEST BURGER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I don't eat many burgers but when i think i want one i think of Owl's Head General Store.
I don't know their secret but the burger is the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reelwoman40942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Quaint setting with outstanding Maine food selections...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a lunch stop after visiting the Owls Head Lighthouse. This place at an intersection near the Post Office attracted our attention. A sign outside proclaims it "Voted Best Burger in Maine" and from our experience I wouldn't disagree. The owner/chef also claimed the "best lobster roll" in Maine, but it isn't served after Labor Day, so we will have to return during the summer season to confirm that.
The place is small and cozy, with souvenirs and local craft items for sale inside and several tables. I imagine during high season it is mostly takeout due to the limited number of tables.
The food is high quality and the price reflects that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claireleefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owls Head General Store also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Owls Head General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing