We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Wish I had more time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Topsham, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. Wish I had more time.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My stay was brief as I was traveling on business but the experience was great. The greeting at arrival was warm and friendly. I missed their dinner time but asked where I could get a container of milk and they immediately made that happen without even charging me. The room was comfortable with a fridge, Keurig, microwave, large screen TV, etc. There was a slight odor to the room but nothing major.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for you great review. We are so glad you had a great experience. We often have great reviews about our friendly staff. Glad you enjoyed our room amenities. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    113
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
143
45
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last October for five nights. It was our second destination in the US, after having just spent a very hectic five days in Manhattan New York.
The hotel staff were very warm and friendly, giving us advice on local places of interest. We were in Orono visiting our daughter who was undertaking a semester student exchange at the University of Maine, for which the hotel was ideally situated being a ten minute car ride away.
The first thing that struck us was the size of the room. It was huge ! Along with two double beds, this room was very comfortable.
The dining room was quite small for the size of the hotel, and breakfast was a self service buffet arrangement, and was fairly limited in choice. We had one evening meal in the hotel, which was good. The only downside was that there was no hotel bar, which we thought was unusual. However, we overcame that obstacle by nipping over the road to the supermarket.
Overall though, a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you found our hotel handy to visiting your daughter at U. Maine. So glad the room was comfortable. It's great to hear your dinner with us was good. We have had great success with our cafe. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent three days here during the Canada Day (July 1) weekend: two adults, two kids and a dog. The staff was lovely in every case. I was very impressed with the welcome our pup got, and the nicest set of pet-owner rules I've seen--standard rules for her but phrased in a friendly, fun way. Also the pet-friendly room was fresh and clean, not the smelly, worn sort that's often relegated to pet owners.

The room was quiet serviceable, though I've had better mattresses and more luxurious linens. The staff made an effort to be hospitable, with warm cookies for the kids and a glass of wine for the grown ups in the evening. I loved that there was plenty of greenspace around the hotel; it all felt clean and safe.

The breakfast room was a bottle-neck as the area where the food was, was cramped; for instance, if someone was waiting for their toast to pop, other guests couldn't get at the bread or cereal. Simple choices, things to toast, a waffle station, a little fruit, but enough to get us out for the day. We had a great full breakfast down the road at Governor's.

It's very handy the I-95 exit and easy to find.

Room Tip: We asked to be away from the back side and highway noise. Pet friendly rooms are only on 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We enjoy having pets stay here with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This is such a sweet place. For the same price as a cookie-cutter chain hotel, you get a homey inn, with a relaxing, Maine/NE motif. The front desk staff were helpful, polite & courteous. We did not eat in the Black Bear Cafe, as we ate out for dinner (great restaurants so close!) We stayed here while visiting UMaine, and it is so close. Very clean. We were not here when busy, so I cannot comment on busy season/noises neighbors. Very well done! Thank you! Love the black bears.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your kind words. We pride our selves in our customer service and standing out for the chain hotels. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope you can stay with again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We travel from Iowa to Prince Edward Island every June to reach our cottage by the sea. Once you leave Bangor, Maine, it's a long way to a good place to stay and since it's usually late in the day, we're always ready to stop. Imagine our surprise one year when we found the Black Bear Inn and Conference Center just off I-95 not far from the Canadian border. Conference center in the name made us think, "might not be what we want, i.e. quiet." But, the inn was and remains virtually empty during the early summer months: no big conferences, a welcoming staff, a teddy bear left on the bed for you to hug (when a synthetic hug is better than no hug), a safe, nice parking lot with plenty of spots near the front door and a tiny restaurant with amazingly good food designed by one of Maine's gourmet cooks, prepared by an up and coming chef and presented by a lovely local miss with travel dreams of her own.

Now, Maine has become a serious destination for us. We usually stop at L.L. Bean in Freeport and refresh our summer wardrobes a little. For the last couple years, we've bought some treats at L.L. Bean, and, then, headed for the Black Bear Inn,. We can get there for a pleasant walk about along the banks of Orono's lazy, woodsy river, return for a late and delicious dinner, chat for a while with our hostesses and wander past a replica of moose and pictures of bears to our cabin-like, casually elegant room for a grand night's sleep. Breakfast is a little skimpy and nothing was there for the gluten/lactose free crowd except hard boiled eggs (yuck). Coffee was good, though. And it was good to stop a couple hours later for brunch. We view the Black Bear Inn as a gift from the God of Travel whoever that might be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inner side away from I-95. If you get on the highway side be sure and pull th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Since the theme is woodsy, the usual environmentally-friendly protocols are evident throughout the hotel. SeeThe Black Bear's write up about how they maintain an environmentally friendly place for travelers.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsymayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the amazing review. We really appreciate your kind words. So glad to hear you look forward to staying with us. We love our repeat guests, we enjoy seeing familiar faces. Thank you for bringing the gluten/lactose free breakfast issues to my attention. We will work on this. We look forward to your next visit. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very accommodating. Facilities were clean and well organized. Enjoyed our visit. Staff was pleasant and most helpful. Ate dinner for the first time of all our stays and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal and its presentation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate all your kind words. We take pride in our great staff. Our café has been very popular, glad to hear your meal was delicious. We hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights for June 2014 orientation at U Maine. On the first night we were later than expected and when we called ahead to let them know and asked about kitchen hours, they offered to take our order and had dinner waiting when we arrived. After driving 10 hrs from upstate NY this was so welcoming. The food was wonderful, and I was able to take my half full glass of wine to my room. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but found the front desk staff to be very friendly and never failed to greet us as we came and went. Also an added bonus is the proximity to some wonderful running trails. I will definately stay again when visiting my son at college.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your great review. So glad to hear our staff was so helpful with getting your dinner for you. We pride ourselves in our customer service. We look forward to having you stay with us over your son's college years. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
482 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
610 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,049 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Property: Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing