We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raving Fans of the Black Bear Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
yarmouth, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Raving Fans of the Black Bear Inn”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My family of Six stayed this weekend for my sons Graduation at UMaine Orono. We rented out the Suite and had a great experience. The people at the front the desk were fantastic. We arrived at 5pm on Friday and complimentary cookies and wine were waiting for us after a long drive. Dog friendly was awesome because Teddy is part of our family and he was welcome with open arms literally.

Room Tip: For a big family the Suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate that you took time to write a review, this is very helpful. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Family Suite. We are glad to know we made an exciting weekend comfortable and pleasant for you and your family. We are so happy that Teddy was able to join you all as well. Take care and thank you again!



Sincerely,



Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    109
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
133
43
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I would URGE visitors to the area to stay at the Black Bear Inn & Conference Center.
• It is comfortable, charming and a great value.
• The staff strive to make sure you have a good experience.
• The BBI & CC is a MUCH better hotel than other properties at which I have stayed in the Bangor area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mack0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate you feedback and support. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and found our staff helpful. We look forward to your next stay with us. Take care and thank you again.



Respectfully,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Location great for University of Maine, and a reasonable alternative to Bangor hotels. The rooms are large and clean, with a charming "cabin" decor. The room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyinConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you found our staff Friendly and courteous. We appreciate our guests very much. We are glad you found our rooms spacious and enjoyed our Cabin like decor. Take Care and Thanks again. We look forward to your next stay with us.


Respectfully,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a great stay. The room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable, with a large flat screen TV. The location was convenient to UMaine, and the staff was welcoming and helpful. My daughter loved snuggling with the black bear, and the price was terrific!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,


Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here. That is great that you found us friendly and affordable. We are happy you enjoyed our new flat screen TV's and that your daughter enjoyed cuddling with the black bear teddy! Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you need to be in Orono for University of Maine, you can't beat the location of this hotel. The rooms are charming with the bear themed styles and the beds are comfortable. The staff is always friendly and helpful. My one criticism is that the restaurant never seems to be open. We've stayed here three times and it's never been open, not even for room service which is unfortunate because after a long day of driving to get there the last thing you want to do is get in the car and drive to find food. Also there are no gluten free options for the free continental breakfast. However if you need to stay in the area, this is a lovely option to get away from the chain hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLH61293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. We very much appreciate your feedback. We are so happy you found our hotel charming and conveniently located. I'm sorry our Cafe has not been open for dinner when you have been here. This is unfortunate as we have an excellent Chef. I am not sure what has happened for it not to be open. It is usually open Mon-Sat. from 5 pm to 8 pm for dinner or room service. We will certainly look into gluten free options for our breakfast, I thought we had some gluten free cereals to offer, but maybe haven't ordered them yet. Thank you again for staying. Take Care.


Respectfully,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I wanted to like this place. Great location, right off the highway, and very close to UMaine where my son will be attending. We had a second floor room and didn't sleep at all. Whoever was staying in the room above ours was very noisy. They seemed to be walking around from midnight to 4am, and I heard every step, with occasionally loud thunking noises. I travel with a white moise machine too, so I was suprised this was such an issue. I thought about getting up in the middle of thie night and begging for another room, but my son did manage to fall asleep and I didn't want to ruin everyone's night. We also were not happy with the breakfast and went to Dunkin on the way to the university.

But, the staff was friendly and the location was great. If my room was quiet I'm sure my review would be quite different.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,


I am so sorry to hear that you did not get a good night's sleep. If you give us another chance please request a room on the 3rd floor and the parking lot side. I have been told these rooms are much quieter. The highway side is noisy for light sleepers. We are happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is always helpful. This helps us to know the area's we are doing well on and the one's that we need to improve on. Take Care.



Respectfully,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The staff at the Inn are just great. So friendly with answers, hellos, and great customer service. When leaving, we stopped to take a picture of ourselves with the bear statue in front. A sweet employee saw us and came out in the rain to take a better picture for us. Clean and cozy room. Very comfortable bed with lots of fluffy pillows. Great shower with lots of pressure and plenty of hot water - something you don't find at every hotel. Thick shades behind the curtains that can be pulled for those who don't want to wake up with the sun - very important for sleeping in. Very nice overall and we will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business and that you took time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful that you found your room comfortable and accommodating. We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Take Care and thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.



Respectfully,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Property: Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing