We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blaine, Maine
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family and I attended a conference and had planned a two night stay. Wound up staying for an extra night. Had both dogs with us, (under 15 and under 4 pounds) and were delighted that we were able to have the experience in pet-friendly atmosphere. The first room was not to our liking and the staff immediately moved us to another. Well-located just off I-95. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    110
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
133
44
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vassalboro, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

went to Snowcon (gaming convention) at the black bear inn and this has been the absolute best stay at a hotel ever. Even used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress at home their high quality spring mattresses lulled both my husband and myself to sleep quickly and easily. When snow threatened for our departure day they were more than accommodating at getting us the Snowcon price for another night. Always cheerful, very clean, wine and cheese hour!

Room Tip: there are some rooms against the highway on one end, the noise did not bother us but we live on a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are so happy to hear your had a great nights sleep. Thank you for taking time to write a review and for staying with us. Sno Con is a fun few days and we are always happy to host it. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and cheese hour. Take care and thank you again.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was traveling with my son who was visiting the University of Maine, and the Black Bear Inn was a perfect spot for us. The room was clean and peaceful, even though there was a large conference going on at the same time. The hotel is well-located just off I-95.

The shower was unexpectedly great - a super shower head! It may sound silly, but having a nice strong hot shower gets your day off to a good start. You don't always find that when you're traveling.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay at the Black Bear when we come through Orono again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. It is always nice to have a home away from home when visiting your college student. We look forward to seeing you again. Take care and thank you for staying with us.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Made a trip to UMaine and needed an over night. A few friends recommend the Black Bear. We arrived at about 11 pm and were greeted by the Soup Nazi. She must of moved to Maine. Went up to the room past a cart of someones dinner spread out in the hallway for everyone to see. Like going by a dumpster. The room was clean and large. Had all the amenities. Bed was comfortable. Got to hear what everyone in the building did all night. Paper thin walls and floors. Moring shower was hot. Small breakfast for free, but it worked for me. I only drink coffee. In the morning the food cart was still in the hall at 9:30 am. Maybe it was a lab experiment...??? Check out lady was very nice. Other than convienent to campus, wasn't a big whoop, or should I say growl.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your comments. This is the first time I have heard about paper thin walls, and I apologize for cart that was left in the hallway. We hope you come back and give us another chance. We will do our best to put you in a quieter room. Thank you again for staying. Take Care.



Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, NB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at the Black Bear Inn for two nights during a recent conference. The staff were great and very helpful. The rooms are cozy and very clean. I appreciated the quilt-like comforters and the bear-themed room ;). Felt very at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverSt_Andrews_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are so happy you felt at home here. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. We are glad that you liked our quilts and cozy rooms. We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in the area. Take Care and thank you again.



Sincerely,



Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I came to Maine to visit my son for Christmas. He lives less than 10 minutes away above the pro shop of his golf course. Staying at the Inn gave us both space and made for a perfect visit. The staff is totally cheery and friendly. They offer a great breakfast (6-10 a.m.) and have coffee in the room which is spotlessly clean and roomy. Cookies on arrival and a free newspaper are just a couple of the touches of home they offer. Smiles are free. You'll be smiling if you stay there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for writing a review, this helps us and our travelers. We are so glad you had a nice visit with your son. It's great that you enjoyed our cookies and that we made you smile. Take care and thank you again so much.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed with the great location so close to I-95. This property is well maintained and has very friendly staff. The staff make you feel right at home. The rooms are very spacious and updated. Their continental breakfast has many choices, my children loved the waffle station. We will definitely be back and recommend to all our friends and family

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Black Bear Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you found our staff helpful and our location convenient. We are happy you and the kids enjoyed our waffles. Take care and thank you again.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Property: Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing