We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and awesome staff”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed with the great location so close to I-95. This property is well maintained and has very friendly staff. The staff make you feel right at home. The rooms are very spacious and updated. Their continental breakfast has many choices, my children loved the waffle station. We will definitely be back and recommend to all our friends and family

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Black Bear Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you found our staff helpful and our location convenient. We are happy you and the kids enjoyed our waffles. Take care and thank you again.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    111
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
134
44
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our second trip here in the past few months. Nice staff, clean and large rooms, and great location when visiting UMaine and/or Bangor. Staff is very accommodating and helpful. Close to everything. Will continue to stay here whenever in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for continuing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you find our location convenient and comfortable. Our staff loves seeing familiar faces as well as new ones. Take Care and thank you again.



Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBUQUERQUE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed a week at the Black Bear Inn in Orono, Maine and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. This hotel is clean, comfortable, convenient and affordable, and all with a great, friendly local feel. The rooms are well kept and comfortable and the staff are all friendly and extremely helpful. I highly recommend a stay at the Black Bear Inn, and I will be staying there again in the future.

Green Features: I loved the recycling bin in the room and appreciate the concern for creating a "green" environment.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatestgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are so happy to hear your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate that you found our staff Friendly and helpful and our rooms in good working condition. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area. Take care and thank you again.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I always have a very plesant time when I stay there. They let us play cards in the conference room when it is not being used and the wine and cheese is an added bonus. The rooms are always clean and ready when we get there and everyone is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us often. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being a repeat guest. We are happy to hear you enjoy the wine and cheese reception. It's great that you get together in the conference room to play cards. Thank you again. Take Care.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed at the Black Bear Inn for our Bangor shopping trip,was pleasantly surprised at how close it was to the shopping district ,only 7 kms on the Stillwater rd. The hotel was excellent,very clean rooms ,free breakfast and great staff. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a quiet place to stay.Would of liked to have had a pool though !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you liked our quiet rooms and great location. We don't have an indoor pool at the hotel, but we do offer complimentary day passes to the Old Town YMCA and they have an indoor pool. So you will know for next time. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come and shop in Bangor. Take care and thank you again!



Your Friends at the Black Bear Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Black Bear. This was the most pet friendly hotel at which we have ever stayed. They only charged $10.00 for our beagle and also gave her a warm greeting. Linda at the check in area was great. The room was clean and plenty big.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott4808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. We are happy that you brought your beagle along. She is a sweetie. We are glad Linda made you all feel welcome. It's great that you found your room comfortable and spacious. We look forward to seeing you all again the next time you visit our area. Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Front desk very helpful and everyone friendly. Clean rooms and comfortable bed. Great for business traveler with easy access to plugs, easy wireless connection, nice desk area to work, and comfortable room size. Air quality very easy to use and quiet. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you found our front desk staff friendly and helpful. It's great that your room was clean and comfortable to work in. The power boxes on the night stands are a new addition and we are glad they were useful for you. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Bangor/Orono/Old Town area. Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,012 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Property: Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing