We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay At The Black Bear Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Everything About Our Stay Was Great. Room Was Clean And Spacious. Staff Was Very Friendly And Went Out Of Their way To Make Sure We Felt Welcomed. Loved The Food At The Little cafe. Try The Crabcakes-Yummy! We'll Be Back Soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Great_Outdoors_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Take care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night on a business trip. Unfortunately the restaurant was temporarely closed for dinner. Lunch served during our meeting was fine but pricy for a lasagna and salad. Room was clean but humid when I walked in. Employees were helpfull and welcoming. The setup was ok for a meeting. In conclusion I eould stop again if I am aroubd again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boiy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that your meeting was held with us. We are very sorry about the inconvenience of the Cafe being closed at dinner. We are in the process of changing chefs and the timing did not work out perfectly. Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stay here regularly when we return to our alma mater, University of Maine, or visit our family living in the area. It has always been a clean and convenient place to stay, and the staff is fantastic! The fact that we can bring our dog is such a bonus!

During our last stay, the room did have a bit of a musty smell, and there were dehumidifiers in the hallway; not sure what the issue was, but it was not a significant issue.

Love the cookies!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmocalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us. We appreciate your business and you taking the time to write a review for us. We are sorry about the musty smell, we do use the dehumidifiers to try and correct that. We are happy you bring your pet along as well. Take care and we look forward to your next stay with us.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I have now stayed at the Black Bear Inn twice, in May and August 2013, in the course of ushering my son through visits to the University of Maine. I travel a good deal for work, so I stay in a wide range of hotels. The Black Bear Inn is a very pleasant hotel in a great little university town. The rooms are ample, and well maintained. The breakfast is free and, although "serve-yourself," ample. The location is great for accessing Bangor or Orono, and even then taking a quick trip to Acadia and the coast. Above all though, the Inn's staff are pleasant, helpful, and always quick to respond to requests. Very reasonably priced, this is also a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for being a repeat guest of ours. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. Congratulations to your son on attending the University of Maine. We look forward your next stay. Take Care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

During our stay at the Black Bear, my husband and I were in the process of purchasing a second home in beautiful Maine. We extended our stay twice and needed to gather documents in order to make our dream come true.
Not only was room service incredible, our room clean and comfy daily, but the staff was incredible. Christine and Samantha assisted us in our stay, but more importantly to gather necessary documentation hundreds of miles away. Their patience, expertise, and friendly personalities made our stay even nicer, and got the job done. Thanks ladies, and Black Bear Inn! Thanks to the ladies we'll be neighbors soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandShopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it very much. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that we will now be neighbors. Good luck with your second home! Thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff was delightful, Great location - went for a college visit to University of Maine, A good value for the money. Our room was clean and comfortable. I really have nothing else to add, but it is required that I have a 200 character minimum.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear our staff was friendly and our rooms were comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Take Care


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spent only one night on the way to Northern Maine, but we must say our hotel stay was a very pleasant one. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. Many pillows on the beds and plenty of room to move around. The people at the front desk were very polite and courteous. The breakfast waffles were EXCELLENT! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the waffles and look forward to seeing you again.


Take Care


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
508 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,072 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $119 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing