We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OWNERS - You need to give this property some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I think the staff was very friendly and easy to work with. You have a great group of employees there and should definitely be proud. What they are NOT in control of is your lack of attention to this property. The carpet in our room was folded over in many spots, ceilings are coming apart, the room smelled musty and damp, the shower curtain was disgusting, the comforter and blankets were old and stained. Keurig was GREAT and bathrooms were cleaned, but I expected more. Your property is one of only 2 in the area, you should make it shine as much as the University of Maine deserves.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have a nice lawn versus parking lot to overlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very helpful to us. We have made some upgrades to the rooms such as flat screen TV's, Keurig Coffee makers, and microwaves and refrigerators. We are always trying to update and upgrade so your input helps us to know where and what upgrades and updates are most needed. Thank you again. Take care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 318 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a GEM of a hotel. From the minute we walked in we were greeted by a genuinely friendly front desk staff.
The hotel is impeccably maintained. We booked the double suite (for $10 more) and our room was freshly updated, spacious and included a fridge, microwave, a Keurig Coffee Maker and large screen HD TV.
We were traveling with pets and the grounds were perfect for a nice stroll after a long 12 hour trip.
But what really made this place special were the staff. The lady at the front desk could not have been more helpful. It is obvious she really enjoys her job making sure every customer is well taken care of.
We ordered room service, AN EXCELLENT BURGER AND FLATBREAD, and it was delivered by a young lady quickly, with a smile and made sure we had everything we needed.
I hope the management team recognizes these valuable employees. This kind of service and dedication is rare, and it is folks like these who give the hotel a special feel, and sets it apart from the rest.
We travel north for the summer to Nova Scotia and usually bypass the Bangor area. Not any more! This hotel is worth rerouting your trip for!
Attention Pet Lovers- THIS IS YOUR PLACE - a first class hotel that embraces our well behaved furry kids!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area. Take care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Each year my husband and I attend the Special Olympics in Orono to honor my brothers. We have a 4 hour drive from our home - although the drive is not too long it still takes its toll on us physically. Friday nights we are exhausted after attending the opening ceremonies and look forward to sleep. This year we did not get to check in until after 9:00 p.m. - tired and hungry the staff was awesome. They had a list of easy to find restaurants and even recommended a few. Our room was clean and large. We did not hear the other guests in the hallway (coaches of S.O. participants). Not only did we sleep well each night - but when entering the building we did NOT have to walk through cigarette smoke. If you are looking for a family friendly, quiet atmosphere with beautiful quaint rooms to relax in this is the best hotel.

Room Tip: The king bed suite is large and not over pricey - especially if you have AAA or an AARP discount car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsmith9184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the Special Olympics and your stay. I wish we could have made the weather better for everyone. Take care and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

You know, we have driven past this place for years, and so yesterday evening I decided to head on in and see what they had to offer. We were not disappointed. While we did not try the restaurant, which we have heard good things about, the rest of the property is certainly clean, tidy, and safe. The staff were all friendly, welcoming and anxious to make sure we had a good stay. We left our bikes outside with no worries at all. Our room was clean, quiet and well-appointed. I especially liked the Keurig coffee maker in the morning. The breakfast is just a little better than most, due to the better than normal selection and to the friendliness of the staff. Pictures and sculptures of bears abound everywhere (hey, check the name of the place...) so if you have a bear phobia, keep your eyes closed! This was a very enjoyable stay and we will happily return.

Room Tip: Highway (I-95) side is a bit noisier, but not excessively so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope the rest of your motorcycle trip goes well! Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

There aren't many places to stay in this part of Maine so the Black Bear Inn should be getting a lot of business. The hotel is clean and situated close to a number of restaurants. The staff is fine. The only downside of the hotel is that it was not built well. Some of the hallways creak as you walk on them and the walls are thin. There were a couple hockey teams staying at the same time as I and you could hear everything. It is a good enough hotel whether you are passing through or staying a couple of days. Just make sure you ask for a room away from any hockey teams.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very helpful. So sorry about the noise, in the future please let us know and we will try our best to quiet other guests. Take care and thank you again for your business.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel was very clean. Very friendly and helpful employees greeted us. Hotel offered wine and cheese and and also had the best gourmet food around. Very pleasant stay all around

I needed help printing a boarding pass and the desk person helped me get it all printed and also was very helpful in helping us find where we could find a certain place in Bangor.

I will make sure I use this hotel in the future. My roommates also agrees with this. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Take care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a very good stay, even though I was visiting the Bangor area in the middle of a major convention, two statewide conferences, a HS Prom in our hotel, and a regional Bingo tournament! But the stay was quiet and went well.The staff was always friendly and upbeat, and the hotel had made some renovations since my last stay two years ago..Room had a large TV(excellent picture) and was quiet, comfortable, clean, and well maintained. Keurig coffee maker in room was a pleasant surprise, as was the apparently once weekly complimentary cheese and wine in the lobby. Breakfast was standard continental fare, with make your own waffles-plenty for my purposes. Enjoyed this stay and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patlu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, especially where we were so busy. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Take Care and thank you again.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
6.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bangor
8.8 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $103 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing