We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“college visit to UMaine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“college visit to UMaine”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and a well-appointed room. Complimentary breakfast with many choices. We would definitely return if we are in the area. Very welcoming atmosphere and furnishings. Excellent recommendations for local attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Take care.



Sincerely,



Amanda Schmidt
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    113
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
143
45
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I booked online. Thought it was for a great price! The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. It had easy access to the interstate to get to Bangor and close enough to downtown Orono too! Would definitely go back...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found us conveniently located. We hope to see you again in the future. Take Care.



Sincerely,


Black Bear Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived late and during a snow storm. We initially drove into the lot of the office building down the street—in the dark, it looks like a motel because it was all lit up at 11 PM. The staff was friendly and competent. The room was clean and comfortable. We appreciated having a mini-fridge and coffee machine. The exercise room is functional, but spartan, just one treadmill and a weight machine. This seems to be a popular hotel with sports parents, and conversation over breakfast was about a hockey game. We have stayed in several different hotels in this area, and this is the nicest one we have found. While it is more expensive than several other choices, we will probably stay here again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area. Take Care.



Sincerely,


Staff at the Black Bear Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Friendly staff and clean rooms made this hotel one we would definitely return to!
The complimentary breakfast was wonderful too!
The hotel had easy access from the main road yet was just enough outside of Bangor to make you feel you were out out of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyousPick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. We are so glad your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunks, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Never stayed at Lafayette Hotel. Glad to see a locally based company contributing so much to the community in Maine and beyond. We look forward to coming back again. We were welcomed with open arms and needed to check out late because of a late swim meet. We were able to relax for a few hours in the lobby waiting for our swim meet. Front desk staff totally accomodated my family. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonFUber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the fact that we are part of Lafayette Hotels. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at the Black Bear for one night Feb. 28. When I go to UMaine to visit my daughter, I typically stay in 2 star hotels in Bangor. Priceline had a deal on the Black Bear that put it in that price range, and I will seek it out in the future. The room was spacious,quiet, clean and comfortable, with a bed and a pull-out couch and a mini-fridge.
The exercise room could use a second piece of cardio equipment - there is only one treadmill and a weight station. Breakfast was basic, but carb heavy - waffles, bagels, breads and muffins and cereal.
There was a mix-up between Priceline and the hotel with my check-in and I was charged twice, but the staff was friendly and accommodating about getting the problem fixed quickly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southcounty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you visit your daughter at UMaine. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel had fast easy check in. Rooms were clean, and a coffee maker using K-cups. The bed was comfortable and had a nice quiet evening. worked for a while at the desk which rolls around. In the a free breakfast was offered that had cereals, bread type items and waffles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toys4dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy you had a great business stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in the Old Town/Orono/Bangor area. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
481 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
610 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,048 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Property: Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing