We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at the Black Bear for one night Feb. 28. When I go to UMaine to visit my daughter, I typically stay in 2 star hotels in Bangor. Priceline had a deal on the Black Bear that put it in that price range, and I will seek it out in the future. The room was spacious,quiet, clean and comfortable, with a bed and a pull-out couch and a mini-fridge.
The exercise room could use a second piece of cardio equipment - there is only one treadmill and a weight station. Breakfast was basic, but carb heavy - waffles, bagels, breads and muffins and cereal.
There was a mix-up between Priceline and the hotel with my check-in and I was charged twice, but the staff was friendly and accommodating about getting the problem fixed quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southcounty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you visit your daughter at UMaine. Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 299 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel had fast easy check in. Rooms were clean, and a coffee maker using K-cups. The bed was comfortable and had a nice quiet evening. worked for a while at the desk which rolls around. In the a free breakfast was offered that had cereals, bread type items and waffles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toys4dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy you had a great business stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in the Old Town/Orono/Bangor area. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

It was clean and quiet. The gal who was at the desk when I signed in was the friendliest desk clerk I have dealt with. I have already recommended it to some of my friends. I didn't use the pool or exercise area. I was most impressed that the floors were not carpeted in the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. You stayed in room 318 our only room so far with hardwood floors. The rest of the rooms have carpets, but someday we may switch to all wood flooring. We are happy you had a great stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Staff was friendly and was helpful but did not know how to replace a fluorescent bulb that was blinking. -- Did bring a lamp to plug in for more lighting. Good breakfast choices for breakfast being included.

Room Tip: Make sure if you have 5 in a room that the room is big enough for a rollaway so you do not have to c...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to write your review. I am so sorry you had trouble with the lights. We will work on that. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a wonderful Valentines date in the dining section. We had beautiful prepared meals by Chef Arturo Montes. If you ever feel like treating yourself to a first class/five star meal, catch the Chef there and enjoy! [photo attached - yum!]

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your Valentine meal. The uploaded picture is a great touch. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future. Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just spent four days at the Black Bear Inn for a sorority event. Check in was smooth and friendly, the room was huge and well prepared- there is a Keurig in the room (this makes life worth living in itself). Clean, charming, cozy, unique. Attentive staff, great continental breakfast. During our time there, the blizzard Nemo arrived and left. There was not even a hitch in service or cheerfulness of the staff. Parking lot was continually plowed as people were able to get their vehicles moved (when they wanted to do so). I cannot rave enough about what a great time we had! Exercise room is well enough equipped and there is even a sauna. Did not eat at the cafe but the food smelled great! Thanks for a great and memorable weekend. If I had to spend another blizzard in a a hotel can could choose, I would choose the Black Bear Inn again. I'd choose it for nice weather too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinasMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Black Bear Inn. We are glad that you liked our new in-room Keurig coffee makers. They have been a hit with our guests. Thank you for pointing out the friendliness of our staff. We take great pride in giving exceptional service. Next time you are with us, be sure to check out the café. The food is fantastic! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Brock Bradford
General Manager
Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Never had the occasion to stay there since I live in the area but Storm Nero had made plans for me. Stayed two nights in such comfortable, clean, and well designed rooms. Since I was coming to a special event, there were others I knew there. Our impromptu gatherings in the sauna, cafe, or lobby were supported by staff who provide extra touches and time (after their normal service hours in cafe especially) for us to get reacquainted. Staff went the extra mile. Never went without. They found eateries that were open or would deliver in a blizzard, shoveled and cleared walkways constantly, Never heard a peep from hallways or from other rooms. Place and staff are amazing!

Room Tip: Hallsway are longer than most hotels I have stayed in so if walking is an issue, request a room clos...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaLadyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Black Bear Inn. Thank you for pointing out our wonderful staff. We take pride in what we do, which is making sure your stay is wonderful! I’m glad you were able to eat in our café. We are open Monday-Saturday, from 5-8pm, so be sure to come back soon!

Sincerely,
Brock Bradford
General Manager
Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
508 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,072 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $120 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing