We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were quite pleased with our stay. The room was large and very clean. The staff was extremely helpful. We did ask for a quiet room and were put on the top floor at the far end of the hall, which was very quiet but I did hear the truck traffic on the highway. The breakfast was very adequate.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our staff is what makes the hotel and I will let them know about your comments. I hope you have a chance to visit before the end of the year. We have just added refigerators and microwaves to all our rooms. Happy Holidays! Tom Palmer/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 299 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at your property not too long ago while my sister was in the hospital. All staff members were delightful. The rooms were clean and VERY quiet, a plus after a long stressful day. I was pleasantly surprised to fine a new Keurig my room. Breakfast in the morning was quick and easy and included in my room fee. I have found that in the Bangor area, you truly get what you pay for, and this hotel was worth every penny. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer12072009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the Keurig coffee makers. They have been a nice addition as have the microwaves and refrigerators we just added. Please visit again in the near future. Thanks Tom Palmer/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had booked at the Black Bear Inn because there were no rooms available in Bangor. However, the Black Bear Inn is really conveniently located, just off the freeway exit near Old Town, and only a few minutes from Bangor. The first thing I did when I came into the room was take pictures of the bedspreads--really great quilts featuring a log cabin, woods, and (what else?) a black bear. There was even a bear stuffed toy which you could purchase with proceeds going to cancer. The room was comfortable and very clean. Staff were totally friendly and accommodating. We arrived on a Saturday and were told there would be a wine and cheese hour which we took in, and met some of the other guests. The continental breakfast was fine, very casual, and you could take a tray back to your room. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and especially families. There is a statue of a black bear and a cub outside the hotel and there always seemed to be kids climbing on it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodmaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. I will pass your compliments on to our staff. They do a wonderful job. I am glad you enjoyed the wine and cheese reception....it has been very popular. Hope to see you soon! Tom Palmer/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was at the Black Bear Inn accompanying my husband who was there for a conference. The room was quaint and comfortable. We were there for 2 nights. On the second night we ordered a room service individual pizza. When it finally arrived it was a pile of 4 slices on a plate with plastic wrap covering it, which was not a very appetizing presentation. No plates or napkins arrived with it, just the pile of slices. OK. When I bit into the pizza the dough was raw. By this time I was no longer hungry. I picked at the toppings and called it a night.
On the last morning my husband went to his meetings and I put out the "Privacy Please" sign and packed and then showered. I had just gotten out of the shower and was drying off when I heard someone trying to enter the room. I was right by the door when this occurred so I know there were no announcements. I called out my husband's name a couple of times and the door opened and the maid was there and she said "No" (as in she wasn't Jim). I asked her if the sign asking her not to disturb was there. She looked and said "oh, sorry." She still had the door open and I was trying to hide behind a tiny towel. I said, "Please!" and closed the door! In EVERY hotel in which I have ever stayed the housekeeping staff would knock and announce "Housekeeping!" before letting themselves into a room. I have never had a privacy sign disrespected before either. This was a very upsetting experience. When I checked out of the room I relayed my experience to the front desk and also paid for my nearly inedible pizza. Her response was a "Sorry. I'm not sure why that happened." I was underwhelmed. I would have liked to have had her say that she would bring my concerns to a manager or that they would give the housekeeping (and culinary) staff some training. I left without any hope that either of these issues would come to the attention of someone who could work with staff on improving the experience for the guests.
Would I stay here again? Well, if attending a conference there I guess so. Would I CHOOSE this hotel to stay at when in the area? NO WAY! Would I recommend it to anyone? No.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Your comments at the desk at check out were immediately relayed to me and again I would like to apologize. The staff involved were spoken to and have learned a valuable lesson. I can assure you this is a rare occurence and I truly hope you give us another chance. You will be happy. Tom Palmer/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here when visiting UMaine...the hotel is very close to the campus. The rooms were appealing, clean, and pleasantly surprising. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thanks for your review. We try to be more than just 'close to the University' with our comp wine reception, friendly staff and free wireless. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again. Tom Palmer/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Co-incidentally I was in Maine for a Black Bear hunt. Although I often look for low cost accomodations, I didn't resist the higher cost for an enterprise with a magnificent bronze sculpture of bears adjacent to the front entrance. The next surprise was the wine & cheese event in the evening. The limited menu of the in-house restaurant had several creative and intriguing offerings that seemed designed to pique the interests of a wide variety of dietary restrictions and certainly teased MY palate ! The morning breakfast pleasantly included self-made waffles hot from the waffle iron. I sighted two bears during the week's hunt and chose not to shoot. The weather was warm enough to delay the start of fall colorations to the end of the week. Just gorgeous !

Way-Boy 2

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us during your bear hunt. We are glad you chose not to shoot the bears during your hunt!! I will pass on your comments to our chef. Tom Palmer/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Black Bear on our way to Nova Scotia. I used Priceline.com in an attempt to get a better deal on clearly overpriced area. I was hoping to get a room in a Hampton Inn but I got Black Bear instead. When we arrived we were tired from a 10 hour drive...my son just want to run around and play. There was no pool, and no where for kids to go. This is my fault for not checking but I was still disappointed with so little to do for him. The room was comfortable but older. We were talked into room service instead of going out to eat (b/c we arrived late and my son would have disrupted people in their tiny (15 X 15 ft) restaurant. The food was ok but the 18% charge for room service made it way over priced for what we rec'd. They provided a continental breakfast which was decent. I chose not to stay here on my way back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are a conference/convention center located minutes from the University of Maine. Unfortunately, we do not have a pool for your son. We are very popular with University guests and the many receptions and conferences that are held annually here at the Inn. I hope you give us another opportunity next time you are in the area. Tom Palmer/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
509 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,072 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $120 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing