We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Orono
Post
Inbox
Search

“The worst”
Review of The Family Dog

The Family Dog
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Native American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’ve never written a bad review, nor have I left an entire meal uneaten. This was the worst experience I have ever had at a restaurant and it really ruined the direction of the day. And we had to stop for takeout after spending 50.00 for lunch. Out of four meals not one came out edible. The hash was all fat and greasy and the homefries on all meals were burnt. In the trash it went. That’s not an easy feat for this none picky family. The staff didn’t care that our family outing was ruined and I was so angry I left in tears. Never again and we will spread the word. There are plenty of other options.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2019

The Dog has the best hot dogs! Try the 'Bad Dog' for an unforgettable snack. Great place to watch sports!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

The place looks appealing with a great name, plenty of cool, rustic style and lots of local charm. Parking is limited but not too difficult. The ordering system is not readily obvious but after a couple of visits I'm sure it seems intuitive. The staff is not very engaging or interested in guiding the uninitiated. The person taking the orders appears sluggish, bored and disinterested but not atypically "Maine". The menu is simple but cleaver and the seating options are great, ranging from inside to under the awning and out on the lawn. The dogs are skimpy given the size of the rolls and the kraut is bland.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank aaronds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

Good local place the people are friendly the food was ok not wonderful but far from awful the guy who worked there was very helpful about the surrounding areas . Nice porch to sit outside on.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank snorkler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Quick service generous portions and creative offerings...This place is our goto big breakfast stop...with our without our dog Blaze!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Wander518521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Family Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing