We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Big, comfortable, clean room. Superb, friendly, and competent staff. EXTREMELY convenient to University of Maine and downtown Orono. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatheLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 494 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in a room with one bed and a pull-out couch. Size of the room was OK and the room had a refrig and microwave. The only problem was a lack of lighting around the couch. I did write this on the room card as a point of improvement. Breakfast was in the basement was basement musty with no natural light so the atmosphere was nothing. Food was OK, typical middle of the road hotel breakfast. Staff was very pleasant. A Good value. The driveway is right along the traffic jam road of Orono ( badly placed traffic light on the other side of the bridge). This traffic could cost you 10 minutes coming/going to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Right near University of Maine campus....Owners have done the best that can be done to update a traditional 60's motel. Rooms are clean and reasonably well maintained. Our king size bed was OK...room had microwave and fridge. There is a nice pool right at the river's edge. We skipped the complimentary breakfast...but it looked average...and others were enjoying it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We found this terrific hotel quite by accident! What a fabulous location and beautiful scenery. We even had the pleasure of watching two deer grazing in the field in the early morning! Our daughter is a freshman at the U Maine Orono and we could walk to the university to visit her. The local stores and restaurants are also in walking distance.

Customer service is #1. The staff go out of their way to assist you and are very pleasant. They are eager to share information about shopping; offer excellent suggestions for places to dine and places to visit in the area.

In addition to the comfy rooms, the Inn offers a complimentary breakfast (cereal, muffins, bacon, eggs, bagels, coffee, juice) to start your day. The pool and pool area was very well kept and a great place to socialize.

They also have a "frequent stay card" which will get stamped at each stay and we'll earn a free night along the way.

I would highly recommend the University Inn Academic Suites!! It is a home away from home except you don't have to do any work! We enjoyed it so much that we are returning in Septemeber and for a week in October.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0ccer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

University Inn Academic Suites is conveniently located near the UMaine Campus. We've stayed here several times and the staff is unfailingly good-natured and helpful. The rates are good and the rooms are clean. The included hot breakfast is a real bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trav088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The location is great when visiting a student a UMaine. The complimentary breakfast was very good. The staff was very helpful. the hotel rooms which face the river have a great view.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowler15451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Good breakfast, friendly folks, cooperative hosts, very convenient location. Hosts are always ready to serve.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oronosunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
530 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
4.6 mi away
Milford Motel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $76 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic
University Inn Academic Suites Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing