We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while visiting a child attending UMaine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2009

You have to pass the hotel to get to the campus. It's less than a mile away from UMaine and within walking distance to an authentic Mexican restaurant. It's perfect for visiting a child attending UMaine!

The hotel is clean and neat. One suggestion, it would be nice if guests could get a cup of tea or coffee in at night in the lobby or downstairs where breakfast is served. This is a feature offered by most hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceywhitten23, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2009

Thank you very much for the feedback. We often offer coffee & tea in the evening down in the lounge but find that most times, it goes unused. We are happy to provide this whenever a guest requests it. Since your comment, we will work on finding an appropriate place in the front lobby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for University Inn Academic Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 477 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

Have graduated 2 sons and have a daughter at U maine. Have stayed in many hotels in the Bangor/Orono area over the last 9 years. Second floor riverside has balconies and best view all 4 seasons. Can't find a more convenient location. Seems everytime we stay something has been updated or upgraded. Latest are refurbished bathrooms that are more luxury than utility - and free WiFi in all rooms. Take a long steamy shower; exhaust is more than adequate to keep 'locker room" from migrating into the room. Come during Christmas holidays and experience the floor to ceiling tree in the all glass lobby. Staff could not be more friendly and willing to accomodate all requests. Breakfast is good. Several local restaurants will deliver full menu. Downside is lack of available electrical outlets for charging cellphones and laptops. Building may be old, but it is being lovingly cared for.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ALUMNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

nothing fancy, but clean rooms and friendly people
hallways don't smell the best
but over all great for the price
nice to have room with balcony overseeing the river but balcony will some wear and tear

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabellavermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

This is a great little place, very clean, very comfortable, perfect for business or pleasure. I enjoyed the breakfast - which included cereal, oatmeal, 3 juice selections and bagels and enlish muffins. I used the workout room which had just what I needed to unwind with after day long meetings. The location is a walk away from a great little business area, "downtown" Orono and the riverside location is lovely. A great experience all around.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainepetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We’ve been staying at the University Inn for 33 years and it’s a pleasure to see all the wonderful new upgrades. On the last visit, the bathroom s had been outfitted with top of the line fixtures. The staff is always pleasant and helpful and the complimentary continental breakfast makes it easy to get on the road early. We love the view of the river and of course, it’s not Orono without a visit to Pat’s Pizza. It’s within walking distance from the Inn. In all, I’d highly recommend the Inn to all travellers - it’s a five minute drive from Bangor’s major shopping malls but you get to enjoy the serenity of a quiet small town.
Judy & John, Nova Scotia

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolinovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

My daughter and I needed a place to stay for a few nights in Orono and chose the University Inn Academic Suites because it was close to where we needed to go.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, comfortable and I love the baseboard heaters. No noisy window units.

The desk clerk apologized because the rooms are being renovated and she thought we might be bothered by the noise, but we weren't. A quick peek into the newly renovated rooms showed us that they'll be very nice when done. All new bathrooms etc.

The continental breakfast is basic but good. There's a lounge, although we didn't investigate it. Nice lobby with comfortable couches and chairs and a beautiful atrium effect from huge windows.

I was pleased to find that the wi-fi worked very well and was faster than most hotel wi-fi I've used.

Overall, we were very pleased with the service and comfort level here and will be returning whenever we're in Orono. I recommend it for anyone who wants a nice room at a good rate.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hawkhill8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

I have just returned from visiting my son who is a freshman at the University of Maine, Orono. As an "out of state" parent, I had no idea as to where to stay and selected the Univeristy Inn from the list of options, based solely on its proximity to the Uof Maine campus, so I could walk to campus and get a true picture of the environment that my son was now a part of.

Wow, my selection was ideal! The University Inn was perfect! A family-run inn....which was wonderful.

From the excellent customer service I experienced when first making my reservation (the staff went above and beyond to give me some tips/information about getting to Orono from the airport in Bangor), to meeting them on-site, offering excellent suggestions for places to dine, to my day of departuren, it felt like a family taking care of me.

In addition to having a place to sleep, the Inn offers a complimentary breakfast (cereal, muffins, bagels, coffee, juice) to start your day....there is even a work-out room (and no i didn't start to exercise, but I sure could have); a bar, and place to socialize. In addition to being a walking distance to the campus, it is just a few steps away from downtown Orono...so many conveniences.

They also have a "frequent stay card".......so as I return to see my son, my card will get stamped and I'll earn a free night along the way....With 4 years ahead of me, those "earned free nights" will be appreciated!

If you're going to visit anyone at the University of Maine, I would highly recommend the University Inn Academic Suites!!

Enjoy!

Stayed: October 2008
Thank educator57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
508 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
629 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,072 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $97 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic
University Inn Academic Suites Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing