We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puppy's 1st Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Asked for a first floor for my puppy I was bringing. Room was perfect. Slide open the back door & had a patio & rolling green grass, woods, & the river along with geese. The pool area is fenced in so we had no issues trying to get in. He loved his first overnight visit in a hotel. Thanks for making him feel welcome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, And 2nd floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 491 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

The location was great because it was close to the UMaine. Need to Change the carpet in the room, there was an foul odor. The staff was pleasant and the breakfast was great. The beds were comfortable but needed better blankets.

Room Tip: Get the room with the view of the river on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan4661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our first visit to the University Inn. Our son attends the University of Maine, and we needed to spend the night this past weekend. We were so pleasantly surprised at this little inn! The room was cleaner than most large hotels, and the hospitality was second to none. We had a beautiful second-floor room with a balcony overlooking the river, and the view was beautiful. The inn is so convenient to campus - just around the corner. Most hotels offer a "continental" breakfast; this inn offers a full breakfast at no charge. Everything was wonderful, and we will definitely stay at the University Inn again at our next visit to Orono.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor overlooking the river have a beautiful view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very friendly staff and clean I would recommend staying here when visiting Maine University very close in proximity. Breakfast was really good. I will stay there on my next visit to Orono, Me. Great place

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanda73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Looks like much needed updates were taking place while I was there. reasonable price, friendly desk personnel. Better housekeeping could be done. Pillows are worn out. Good location for university visits.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was my first weekend staying in the University Inn (I am a recent UMaine graduate) when my husband, dog, and I went to Orono for an Alumni weekend. The staff at the University Inn were great and since they allow pets, we were able to stay in a first floor room with a sliding door that opened up directly into the parking lot. This was extremely convenient for when the dog had to go outside! The room was very clean and the free breakfast was delicious, and the hotel is walking distance from both campus and the local bars and restaurants so we didn't need to get a cab when we went out on the town ;)

Room Tip: Rooms off the parking lot came with a key to the sliding door so we could go in and out of our room...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The room was very clean and well equipt for a comfortable weekend. The continental breakfast was amazing. We were there for a function being held at the University of Maine, Orono campus . The drive was less than two minutes to the parking lot on campus. The staff were all very nice. I had forgotten to pack an item and the desk staff were very helpful in supplying it.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor. The first night it sounded like a horse walking around up stairs, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
525 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $81 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic
University Inn Academic Suites Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing