We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint John, Canada
1 review
“Thank you”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Since I have recently had family placed at a nursing home in the area I have stayed on two occasions in May and June. This is a wonderful spot on the river to return to. The renovated rooms are lovely and clean, the breakfast is a plus plus, staff are helpful and friendly and I look forward to staying there again. Thanks again University Inn.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    175
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
229
77
31
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the University Inn Academic Suites in Orono and were very satisfied. The rooms are up-to-date, clean, and comfortable. Rooms have a beautiful view of the river and it's within walking distance of both downtown and the university. The hot breakfast included with the room is excellent. It includes bacon, eggs, sausage, pancakes, waffles, yogurt, bagels, pastries, cereal, almond milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and juices. There's a nice outdoor swimming pool. The owner works the front desk and is very visible. I wish they would've offered free newspapers. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madawaska, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I consistently stay at the University Inn when I travel to Orono/Bangor. It is a clean, safe place to stay with new bedding and a very nice staff. The breakfast in the morning is a real, hot breakfast, quite a treat! The morning I was there, they had scrambled eggs, bacon (which I don't eat, but which everyone else was enjoying) waffles, toast or other breads, macerated strawberries, cereal, oatmeal, juices, and coffee. I think there was also tea. A really good breakfast! This hotel is a good value for the money and always clean. I loved seeing the microwave, the little refrigerator, and the Keurig coffee maker in the room!

I can't rate the sleep quality because I could not fall asleep. I do not blame the hotel for that; I have a health problem that causes me to have sleep problems sometimes.

Room Tip: First floor parking lot rooms are easier if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Best value in the Bangor area. Clean, spacious rooms & great free hot breakfast. I will never again stay at a cheap motel or overpriced hotel in Bangor. This place is it for me! Thank you University Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun-seeker-familyNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceywhitten23, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review and great photo. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The front desk staff was very friendly. We had reserved a room on the 2nd floor but when we arrived around 9pm we asked for a first floor room so we wouldn't have to bother bringing luggage up to the 2nd floor. The girl at the front desk was happy to accomodate us. The room was very clean with comfortable beds. The downside are the bathroom door didn't close and there weren't enough outlets to charge our devices. We had to uplug the clock. The breakfast was good. We only stayed one night but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceywhitten23, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. When this building was built in 1963, the demand for electrical outlets was no where near what it is today. In June, we installed an extra outlet behind the TV and an extra one behind the desk with 2 additional USB ports in all of our rooms. It would be helpful to know if you did not see these extra outlets or if these were in use and you needed more. We certainly see this as an issue and thought we had it addressed it. Your feedback is extremely valuable in helping us exceed our guests expectations. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very convenient (walking distance) from U Maine campus and downtown Orono. On the plus side, there is a nice lounge area for working and a decent breakfast with extended hours. The walls are thin, and there was a very noisy party in the next room over, but when I complained to the front desk, it was investigated and dealt with immediately and effectively (good service). The Inn staff were pleasant and responsive. There is a pool area but we didn't use it. There is also a small gym, but didn't use that either. The rooms are a bit dated but OK. On the downside, the hallways smell very musty. The bathroom fan was very loud. Consistent with older rooms, there are not a lot of electrical outlets, so recharging multiple devices required unplugging lamps and clocks. The price was a little high given the whole picture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLCutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceywhitten23, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We value all feedback and take it into consideration each time we do any upgrades or renovations. As noted in your review we are an older hotel, which means a lack of electrical outlets in rooms. Since your stay we have updated all of our rooms to have more outlets so guests can charge all of their devices. We are also currently renovating our hallways, and over half of the fan units in the bathrooms have already been replaced with the rest to be done soon. We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As always, friendly, courteous service. The proximity to the local spots makes it easy for walking.

As we were visiting, it's location is easy for friends and relatives to find us too. Having been there before, we were pleased as usual.

Room Tip: Book early to get the pool side rooms...so pretty
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice to see everyone helping out Mother Nature, it is evident in how clean the public areas are.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
450 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Property: University Inn Academic Suites
Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic
University Inn Academic Suites Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing