We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“University Inn stay June 23-26”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My son and I checked into the University Inn on Sunday, June 23rd thru Wednesday June 26th. The reason, football camp at UMO, in case you're tracking why people are in the area. We arrived before 11am, knowing that we couldn't check in until 2pm, because my son was excited to get on the road from Waterford, ME, early that morning! We were greeted with 100% friendliness and were in our room by 12:00, that was awesome! The service we had was SUPER the entire stay. The facility was clean and the pool area very well groomed. The staff was all so helpful and friendly. Before checking out I asked could be book for next year, to ensure we had a room! We are DEFINITELY making that our location of choice to stay throughout our visits to Orono over the next several years. My son's goal is to play football at UMO one day, so you'll be seeing us alot!
Thank you for the wonderful treatment- and the breakfast bar was a very nice bonus- well presented, great choices- overall excellent experience!

Room Tip: Our room was nice, over looking the pool and beyond that the river- very calming and nice atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyWhitten1, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. Be sure to participate in our frequent guest program which will provide every 7th night for free. We look forward to seeing you over the next several years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 492 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at both hotels close to the university and although they are both well maintained and clean, I prefer University Inn because it has the pool and dining area is larger. The pool and outdoor area were immaculate and the room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyWhitten1, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you the next time you visit the University of Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wonderful renovations since our last visit (which was nice too!). Delightful accommodations - comfortable and close to everything! Minor suggestions: pull-out couch mattress could be improved and prepared/ripe fruit offered at breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towntrotter7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyWhitten1, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. We have started offering an assortment of fruit selections on the breakfast menu. Some days we offer whole fruit such as apples, bananas and oranges and we alternate that with fresh cut up fruit such as melons and pineapple. We try to make sure there is something for all diet types. We look forward to seeing you over the next few years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Small but you wouldn't know it. Rooms had everything from WiFi to microwave, coffee maker, fridge. Nice view with a balcony to step outside. I would recommend this place to a friend and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbickford64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyWhitten1, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are very excited about our recent additions of fridge, microwaves, and Keurigs to all of our rooms and glad to see others are as well. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The owner and the staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and comfortable. The hair dryer in my room did not work and was replaced immediately. Breakfast was included and was decent. There's coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby all day, and a Keurig machine in the room. There weren't too many people around so it was quiet. The location is great - a short walk to the center of town and UMaine. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If possible ask for the river side for a nice view of the river and the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I suggest that you add two grab bars in each shower or tub. As we get older our balance and safety is not as good.!!! One bar should be near the shower head and the other a long bar about two-thirds down the side of the tub.

Room Tip: We recommend the University Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were hotel hopping to visit different areas of Maine and kept wishing we were back at The University Inn in Orono! Comparitively - there was no comparison, it was the cleanest, friendliest, and most well kept property. The river view, poolside room felt like an upgrade without an added cost, the lawns and plantings were groomed, lush and lovely. The staff is genuine here, truly wishing to please, and did- we felt loved!. We could not have asked for more. The breakfast was listed as continental, however, eggs, sausage, fresh pastries, french toast with strawberry sauce,. . etc, in an adorable spacious cafe with good art! Lesson learned - this hotel is operated by a sophisticated couple who are hands on, next time, we do a day trip to Acadia/Bar Harbor and not move from this perfect little treasure of a place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyWhitten1, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind comments. Our goal is to make people feel like they are at their home away from home and it is an added bonus when our guests appreciate the grounds, location and beautiful property. Hopefully you enjoyed this delightful state. Hope to see you again on your next visit. ~Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
526 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $81 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic
University Inn Academic Suites Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing