We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alamoosook Lakeside Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Orland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Inn lights welcomed us when we 4 travel weary ladies arrived at midnight, our room keys awaited us. We tip-toed down the hall to our rooms-- welcoming, charming, immaculately clean & with comfortable beds. The morning showed us how lucky we were in choosing our inn; it is nestled in trees, on spacious grounds with the magnificent Alamoosook Lake the first thing we saw upon arising. Gina, the Innkeeper is great, the perfect hostess, fun, helpful in all ways re what to do, where to hike, dine, etc. We took advantage of the crystal clear quiet lake and took the kayaks to the eagle's nest; unfortunately we never saw them but we happily listened to the loons during our entire stay -- which was not long enough. I hope there is a next time.

Room Tip: there are only 6 rooms, they are in a row and all have the same views -- of the lake and into the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jljsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited Maine in July and stayed at inn for 4 nights. It was an incredible experience. Our room was clean and bed was comfortable. The place is a lakefront property, quiet and relaxing. Owner of the inn is very professional and helpful. She served homemade breakfast made from scratch, different menu every morning. The dining room is breathtaking facing the lake. The place is small only 5 guest rooms but owner and her staff gave us space and freedom. There are complimentary kayaks and canoes for guests to use and you do not have to sign up for them. We were provided with towels after smimming in the lake. There are relaxing chairs for guests to use, picnic tables and grill. If you want the best guest services, peaceful vacation, come to Alamoosook.
Gina, thank you so much! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ocean911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I usually prefer to go off the beaten path to find a place to stay and I'm rarely disappointed. This Inn in the Maine woods was just what I had hoped for. I wish we hadn't been forced to cut our stay (and vacation) short due to an ailing mother. Gina, our hostess, was very understanding. She was helpful with local restaurant reviews and suggestions for our ride to Acadia Nat. Park. Had a great time and we'll go back soon and finish our ride to make it up to Gina.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reech41890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We thought about giving this three stars but too many things are five stars. However, we will never go back in the summer.

This is a rustic place on a lake that looks and feels remote, even though it is only a few miles off Hwy 1. It's almost right out of "On Golden Pond" complete with loons giving their haunting call at night from far across the lake. It comes with canoes and kayaks for guest use, and we did. Want to ogle summer homes? turn right; circle a few postage stamp sized islands? go straight out; wander for a mile or two with no sign of civilization? paddle a short ways to the left.

What's the problem? Air conditioning. Too many city folk complained about its absence so the owner put in air conditioners. And nailed shut the windows to do so. There's a window on the opposite side but it opens to the corridor the other guests walk down. We cooled our room down then turned off the A/C when we went to bed, and slept so-so in our sealed up room on a remote lake in Maine, until 3 a.m. Then folks in the room next to ours decided they wanted more air, so of course they turned on their A/C. It cycled on and off every 2-3 minutes and was so loud we could both hear it with ear plugs in, and it was not even in our room and our window was not even open! We've never actually heard a louder air conditioner in a room that was not ours, or one with such a deep bass resonance each three minutes as it cycled back on. So every other three minutes you sighed with relief as it quieted down, then immediately started tensing up for the next round.

Another couple told us at breakfast that they had booked the end room because it had a second window to the side, which they opened. Then ther neighbor turned on the A/C and they got little sleep.

In short, we think you will love and adore this place if you arrive before or after the A/Cs go in, but call first and make sure they have been removed from all the rooms. Or bring sleeping pils and better earplugs than we own.

Oh, yes, breakfast was good and the owner quite helpful and friendly, but she was obviously not in a mood to discuss air conditioners, she had heard too many whines about their absence on the few warm days they had had in prior summers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redtandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

..it was so very lovely. We originally only booked for 1 night, but stayed for 2! We felt tended to, but also quite left alone!
I thought about the Inn this morning while I was preparing my Family's breakfast...Gina, the owner, lovingly prepares and attends to things, but without interfering in your privacy. We were SOLD when Gina first brought us to our room, explaining things along the way and then she said 'What else can I do to make your stay perfect?".
We are already looking forward to the next opportunity we might get to stay at the Lakeside Inn - canoeing, sunning, ping pong..and more...all on a drop-dead gorgeous spot!

Room Tip: We chose the pinecone room because of the bed size, motiv of room and that it was at the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our most pleasant surprise on our four week vacation to Canada and Maine. It is a large, well-constructed country house in the woods on the edge of a fairly large lake. The view is truly breathtaking. There are only six guest rooms, but the kitchen and dining room are equipped to support wedding receiptions and other large gatherings. Gina manages the place with a lot of dignity and class in a very business like way. There are canoes and kayaks available to use on the lake and great places to walk. We originally signed up for one night and extended for two more. We would have extended for a week if there had been rooms available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_Moon_77766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We came across this place by coincidence (the GPS found it) and we have to admit that it was great. We only stayed there for one night but we really enjoyed our stay. We swam in the lake, used the kajaks that belong to the house and just relaxed in the sun with some fantastic views over the lake. Gina the host was more than welcoming , we felt at home immediately. The rooms were nice and cozy and the breakfast was probably the best that we relished on our four weeks trip to New England. We can highly recommend the place to everyone who just wants some time to forget his daily routine and enjoy Maine's nature.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orland
14.8 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
14.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
713 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Lucerne Inn
The Lucerne Inn
#1 of 1 in Dedham
192 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bucksport Motor Inn
Bucksport Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bucksport
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamoosook Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamoosook Lakeside Inn

Address: 229 Soper Rd, PO Box 16, Orland, ME 04472-4123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Orland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Orland
Price Range: $141 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamoosook Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamoosook Lakeside Inn provides guests an opportunity to savor the beauty of nature in a retreat-like setting. The area supports a diverse wildlife population including loons, eagles, deer, beaver and even a passing black bear. After your hearty breakfast, enjoy sightseeing or simply swimming, fishing, or canoeing at our lake. The Inn is the perfect central location for visiting famous Maine communities such as Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, Blue Hill and Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Alamoosook Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamoosook Lakeside Inn Maine/Orland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing