We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relax and unwind”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Captains Cabin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bourgnac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cazabayle
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relax and unwind”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place the pictures although nice do not do the cabin justice if you are looking for a place to stay that is quiet and extremely comfortable the cabin is for you.
The homeliness of the decor to the finishing hotel touches have been very thoughtfully managed you have the feeling of being a special comfortable guest in someone's home
My husband and I loved watching the stars while lying in the hammock late into the night
Mussidan itself is a lovely village with very welcoming locals from the greengrocers in the square the bakers by the church and the wonderful waitress who translated the menu with the help of a dictionary

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K
West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely peaceful getaway”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Mum and I took the kids (10 & 12) for a short 5 day break. We went to several villages/towns for shopping & sightseeing and had some fabulous lunches out. We watched DVDs with the log fire in the evenings. It was too cold for the pool, but we played snooker, went for bike rides and a walk. One of our favorite trips was to the lake - it would be perfect with its sandy beach on a summers day.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne W
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely get-away-from-it-all place - great pool!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at 'Captains Cabin' with our three teenage daughters. The outside area was great, the pool was clean and there was plenty of room for sun loungers and outside dining. We spent a day at 'Le Grand Etang' (a lake about 40 minutes drive away) which had a lovely beach and a fab choice of food to buy. Bordeaux was only an hour away and we took advantage of the park and ride scheme - the city was very busy and was a contrast to the relaxing area of Bourgnac.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and peaceful family break”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We all relaxed the moment we walked through the door. The house was very comfortable and the rooms were cool and clean. There was plenty of space for the children to play in and many fun things to do, including swimming in the large pool, and even playing pool. The young children especially enjoyed walking through the small woods at the bottom of the garden area. We adults spent the evenings together outside by the pool area enjoying the peace and quiet after many a full day. Although there were bikes we never took the opportunity to go for a ride but the local area had some beautiful places to explore on a bike. Not too far to drive for local amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquillity and peacefulness
Liked least: A few insects
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tres jolie !! lovely villa with great garden and pool in quiet hamlet.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely property this is. A great villa in which you can either relax and enjoy the beautiful garden and pool. Or use as a base to explore and enjoy the dordogne region. we loved relaxing on the veranda in the evenings. This is a wonderfully peaceful place to stay. We loved the local markets at MUSSIDAN and St Astier Bergerac is a beautiful place to visit and only 20 mins away with easy access. So many lovely local restaurants and local villages to visit. We canoed along 2 wonderful local rivers and spent 3 wonderful weeks exploring the region. A truly lovely holiday at a lovely peaceful villa which is perfect for families or couples alike. We can't wait to return. Merck beaucoup.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the villa was so cosy and had a lovely gareden and pool.
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clynton w
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villa, in a quiet, peaceful location”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in July. The Villa is beautiful, with plenty of room. The grounds are huge, you have a swimming pool, and there is even a wood at the end of the garden. We would have been happy to stay in the whole time we were there. A few minutes drive in the morning, and you can get the most fantastic fresh bread and croissants for breakfast!
The villa is surrounded by countryside. It is perfect for walking, or running. If that is not enough, then a short trip by car, in any direction, will take you to some wonderful locations.
We stayed for one week, and only got to see a small percentage of whats on offer. There really is something to suit everyone's taste.
We highly recommend the villa, and cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful villa, surrounded by peaceful countryside! Amazing!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I stayed here with friends towards the end of June and I can honestly say, it was the most peaceful and tranquil place to visit - which I would most definitely love to visit again! You're surrounded by the countryside, allowing those outdoor-goers to go for walks, as well as having a private pool - do I need say more?! The villa itself is absolutely beautiful, wooden floors and stylishly decorated, including the well-maintained garden (WHICH IS MASSIVE!) which is beautiful with fruit trees! Beaches are located over an hour away, with the Grand Etange (a man-made beach) being just over 20 mins away - you wouldn't have thought it was man-made due to it's perfect tranquility. I thoroughly enjoyed my visits to the local restaurants, many sporting traditional French food , which was a lovely change! I can definitely say that I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday at The Cabin and would recommend it to all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and surroundings!
Liked least: I loved everything - there's nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 13-17
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing