We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat”
Review of Tall Tales Tavern - CLOSED

Tall Tales Tavern
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Seasonally Open May-October, Call ahead for hours
Restaurant details
Description: Seasonally Open May-October, Call ahead for hours
Augusta, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently went to dinner at Tall Tales in Oquossoc, for the first time. We really enjoyed the food. Although the restaurant is small and crowded, the meal was excellent. We had the filet mignon and the salmon. The salmon was so good, cooked perfectly with a sweet maple glaze that was not overdone - just enough. The filet mignon was done exactly to our liking. The appetizer menu was limited and didn't have much that we liked on it, so we tried the nachos. They were okay, but be warned that the serving is enough for 4 people, way too much for 2 people - but we ate them all anyway. (We had skipped lunch and were really hungry). The beer selection was not extensive but I think varied enough to satisfy most anyone. Overall, we enjoyed it all and would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BzzzMarch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maine Mountain Seafood? YES!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you are looking for Great Maine Seafood and you are not on the Coast of Maine GO to "Tall Tales Tavern(and Dining)" in Oquossoc. Smoked Seafood Appetizer? oh my gosh....last time I had something like that, was 45 years ago at the Bud and Ruth Russell's -Kennebago Lake Lodge- Dining Room. "Triple T" has the freshest and tastiest seafood around,maybe something to do with the Fresh Fish/Seafood Market next door...The Lobster Bisque/Stew/Chowder was like an Exquisite Meal from France/Quebec/Coast of Maine?.....OQUOSSOC-YES!!! Everyones meal that night was Delicious . Great Onion Rings and Fries too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Some of the best restaurants in Rangeley are in Oquossoc”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The last time we were in town they were closed for March/April week off.
After being ignored at Parkside and Main in Rangeley we drove to Oquossoc (about 5-10 minutes) and entered and signed in on their book.
Seated quickly. Nice energy in dining area. We had nice service and Steak Tips and Lobster Pot Pie. Best steak tips ever and the lobster pot pie was a suprise (lots of lobster and nothing else except the sauce) and no potatoes etc.. Will return in a heart beat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leon1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful scallops and carrot cake, but...”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I hiked Bald Mountain and decided to try Tall Tales Tavern on a Saturday night instead of driving back to Rangeley. It was packed. We did get a seat right away, and the service was very good. We shared a scallop platter. The serving size was perfect for the two of us, but the onion rings and french fries were not good. The onion rings were in a very bland batter, and the fries had been under a heat lamp and were very rubbery. We were hungry and ate everything, but were disappointed. We then ordered the carrot cake, which was excellent. All in all, it was good, but we were disappointed that not everything was as good as the scallops and carrot cake. We would probably give them another try, if we were in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craftydameMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLYMAN2_12, Owner at Tall Tales Tavern, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Tavern here in Oquossoc. We strive hard to create a Great Dining experience and our Chefs work very hard to bring to the table the best and freshest food around. We do not use heat lamps in our kitchen, all of our orders are prepared to order. We take constructive criticism very seriously and will strive very hard to maintain a better quality with our handcut french fries when ordering our fried seafood. The batter on the onion rings is the same that we use on our seafood, we never thought it bland. But thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please come in again and enjoy some of our other wonderful items on our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. My husband had the steak special and it was cooked perfectly. My daughter had the salmon and she said that it was very moist and flavorful and her boyfriend had the fried clams which was also very good. I had a seafood casserole and it was yummy. This in not a big restaurant and the bar area is very small so be prepared to wait but I would go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Tales Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing