We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Aquarius

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aquarius
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This ain't the Ritz, folks. It's an old inn with a great view and best of all, direct access to a quieter part of the beach, away from the more public beaches served by parking lots. This beach is just so geat, clean, patrolled by police, safe, with great waves, and this motel offers quick and easy access to the room as needed throughout the day, a real boon with children. The place needs a serious update, but meanwhile it gets a nice facelift from the well-tended flowers all around. As a side note, I'd bring my own pillows.

Room Tip: Every room here is different, and many have kitchenettes. Call them up and they'll help you get...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Aquarius
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 61 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

I booked a room for my husband, my daughter and myself for three nights over Memorial Day weekend. I booked weeks in advance and was assured that it was ok to have my three year old in the room. When we arrived I was called a liar and told we would hav to get a bigger room. The owner screamed at is and was beyond rude.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vermont2maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were up at Old Orchard Beach to look at a vacation home for next year. We just needed one night and we found the Aquarius Hotel online. It was very reasonable and the location was killer.

The resort is dated and the rooms felt cheap. Beds and pillows were horrible.

The best part about the resort was the location, right on the beach. And the resort wad a 3 minute walk to the peir.

It suited it's purpose, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oldnatickrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have been staying at the Aquarius Motel for 4 years now and absolutely love this place. The family that owns it treats us like their own and we always have such a clean room and anything we ever need from the owners we have it ASAP. It's literally right on the beach; very convenient to run back to the room for whatever reason. The grounds are meticulous with beautiful flowers and is maintained beautifully at all times. Each year when we check in we reserve our room for the following year because if we couldn't get a room at the Aquarius then there wouldn't be any reason to go to Old Orchard Beach as staying there is part of our vacation experience. Thank you for all you do, Mitch!! Charlotte, Craig, Nancy and Joe

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank momofdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

we have been going to old orchard for almost 20 years, usually stay at the same place but tried the Aquarius this year based on location and figured it was time for a change . While the room may have appeared to be clean it had a slight odor which I still am not sure of , but it almost smelled like someone forgot to wash the "pee' off the bathroom floor. We had beautiful weather so we didn't have to spend much time in the room and just left the windows open and tha fan going on the air conditioner in hopes to keep the air circulating. Only stayed 2 nights. the bed was located and I mean located right next to the air conditioner in the wall, the bed was very uncomfortable and it is time for new pillows they were flat and hard . Maybe if we got a room upstairs it would have been better just too noisy on the ground level.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamdog1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The Aquarius Motel is a fantastic place to stay in Old Orchard Beach, Maine. The owner keeps the grounds immaculate, the rooms spotlessly clean, & the gas grills ready to use on the outdoor patio. The motel is located right on the beach. There are fully equipped kitchenettes available. It's located a few blocks from downtown and 20 minutes from Portland. Getting up in the morning and opening the shades to see the most beautiful sunrise ever over the ocean -- is magical. We have been traveling to OOB for quite a few years to a car show that is held in Sept. by the Chamber of Commerce. Aquarius Motel will be booked that weekend for many years to come. The owners of the motel are like family and we look forward to visiting with them every year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

we found this spot just by luck...stopped and we were lucky enough to get a room.....room was great,and the view from the deck even better!!!we will definately be returning again to walk on the beach and listen to waves.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank summergirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#33 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beau Rivage Motel
Beau Rivage Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius

Address: 1 Brown Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $62 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Aquarius Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing