We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not at all what any of us expected.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowfin's

Yellowfin's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not at all what any of us expected.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I joined a group of friends for dinner at Yellowfin's recently. The entire experience was a bit off, to say the least. The menu sounded very nice, but nothing we were served was nearly as nice as it sounded on the menu. Half of us had baked stuffed mushrooms that were not fully cooked and that was after waiting nearly 45 minutes before this first course was served.

The entrees were another surprise. The "16 oz. porterhouse" was less than 1/2 inch thick and overdone. Those that had the swordfish found themselves with a swordfish steak "the thickness of a magazine" one person quoted. This was also overdone and very dry. The waitress was pleasant and it was obvious that the kitchen was the source of trouble that evening.

I think the biggest surprise of the evening was the restroom door. On it was a sign that said "please knock before entering", which we thought to be for courtesy. The real reason being was that the door latch had broken and that the door could not be shut properly, let alone locked. When we mentioned this to the waitress, she told us that the owner had been meaning to get to that for a week or so. Really?!

This is a neat area of the southern coast. It's too bad this was not better executed as it could be nice alternative to other places in the area. With stiff competition, however, things need drastic improvement in order for any in our party to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank NativeMainer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    47
    13
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“UnMainelike”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have been there twice. Not happy either visit. Will not go again. First time, food not properly prepared. Second time Food was missing careful preparation, timely delivery and taste. After a long wait my grilled lobster tail was served cold, Steak was luke warm and Dessert was dry. I could get that average meal anywhere in Maine for 1/3 the price and have it done right. The potatoes were great. Restaurant needs a Maine influence.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Siisnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Ocean Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

This cozy little spot is a little out of the way on a dead end road next to the beach in Ocean Park south of OOB but worth it. Pleasant open room in yellow and white with a big aquarium as the room's focus. Primarily seafood but chicken & steak are also on the menu. Last night two had fresh grouper (blackened, grilled or broiled), one had almond crusted baked haddock and on I had two appetizers (two small seafood & chicken crepes and butternut squash raviolis with chutney sauce on the side - excellent!). The dessert was one of the best options I've seen, a trio of small servings of cheesecake with raspberry sauce, molten lava cake and key lime pie. What a great idea for sharing! The prices are fair, the service was good and as OP is a dry town, you can bring your own wine, beer or spirits. That really makes for a very reasonable dinner out. We've been here before and will be back again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachSeeker2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a go to place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Billow house recommend and it was Good. Very nice inside got the vibe just right. The menu was very good much to choose from and the specials were very enticing. Wife and I ordered same special blackened swordfish over penne Alfredo either was a meal in it self and both were excellent the blackened swordfish was probably the best I've had. The Staff were friendly helpful and warm. Need to know that Ocean Park is DRY so you need to bring your own. The restaurant expects this as wine glasses were on the tables and a chilled holder were brought as soon as you came in. We look forward to our next visit and will bring friends

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank littlefield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find Open Year Round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I feel so lucky to have found this place! We have a second home in southern Maine and whenever we're up there in the off-season have always traveled to Portland when looking fro a nice dinner. But in the middle of Ocean Park in Old Orchard Beach we discovered a wonderful restaurant with friendly and attentive service and a warm atmosphere. The food was wonderful - homemade and delicious! The restaurant is BYOB so bring your own bottle of wine. We can't wait to go back - if we lived up there year-round we would probably go to Yellowfins every week.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank familytravelers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowfin's also viewed

 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Been to Yellowfin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing