We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the service at the beach house”
Review of The Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach House
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
portland
1 review
“loved the service at the beach house”
Reviewed January 14, 2009

i had recently suffered a stroke,and my 10 yr old thought it would be fun to spend a few days at the beach. we called for info and were told they really were not open.but after awhile don,the manager told us to come on down. we were treated to great hospitality and service.don was kind enough to give us alift to local eateries.donot find that kind service at many places.was a wonderful time and plan on doing it again soon aplus

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank decbosox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    14
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
101
74
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Satyed at The Beach House the week of August 18th. Never fear, Don is still there; so all is well. The place is great. Enough said.

P.S. Be advised that the train runs through the center of twon and you're probably going to hear it at any hotel that you stay at near the beach.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alngeoffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

You can't get closer to the beach than this!!! Huge deck on second floor!! Amazing views!! We loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dekat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Unfortunately, the great hotel manager, Don is gone. He was let go. They hired a new manager who doesn't have what Don had. He under charged us then called us back in to void out sale and redo it. Don had a lot to do with a great experience previously at the Beach House. The owners do not have the same charm, either. Rooms were not as clean as they were when we stayed previously. Owner stuck my family in the tiniest room they have. Futon was dirty and sandy. Friends stayed in the front room and the shower handle broke. Grills we were told they had were falling apart. Come to find out they were just left behind by other travelers. If we knew that we would've brought our own. Don is missed. Not the same quality stay as it was when he was there. Very loud train goes by at 2 am.

  • Liked — location on beach was great and close to pier
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuperMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2008

After the death of my father.... my girlfriend deb and i decided to try old orchard and just got in the truck and drove... we arrived at 2 am... and didnt have a reservation.... we staying in this aweful motel.... with a vacancy... we were told on july 4th weekend its impossible to find a beach view... but we were determined.. the next morning woke up early and as we walked onto the road a vancancy sign was in front of us.... we thought we would take a chance and then we met Don... He said we were lucky and that there was a room on the second floor view of the beach.. available.. we grabbed it no questions... and were in awe... the room was simple but elegant will everything you need for a quiet vacation and the view... i cant describe... we were treated like royaly and ive been many places in my life.. but this had to be my favorite.. so peaceful... and Don artist/fisherman and i became close... and instead of the 3 day visit we planned, we spent a week and didnt want to leave... 5 stars......

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leece01
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We drove up to OOB to find a place to stay for a weekend and happened upon The Beach House by complete accident. After visiting several hotels/motels in that area, we were dissappointed, to say the least; Until we walked into The Beach House. It was absolutely beautiful! Our room was more like a condo. With the private deck, direct access to the beach, the warm, friendly service, and the rates are very reasonable. Honestly, for all you're getting, these are the best rates in that area!..It really was a no brainer for us to book it again for August 2008. This time, we're staying for 7 days!

  • Liked — Very clean, great location!
  • Disliked — Honestly, I can't think of anything we didn't like!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leece01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

My husband and I spent three nights at the Beach House and felt like we were all by ourselves on one of the most beautiful beaches in Maine.
We are not fans of the hub bub and activity right in the center of OOB but we love the beach. We are down there frequently since my husband is in a band and we saw the beach house on one of our many walks on the beach. It had what we were always looking for but could never find - a private balcony on the beach where we could hear the waves at night.
We went in October when the rates were great (they are great anytime for all that you get) and it was quieter on the beach. The ocean put us to sleep every night.
it is newly renovated and super clean (something that can be hard to find in OOB).
If you are interested in the center of OOB it is very easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trips2do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#10 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 2 Roussin St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2911
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Beach Hotel Old Orchard
The Beach Hotel
The Beach House Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing