We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of The Beachwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachwood
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We have gone here the last 2 years and are planning to go again this summer. This place is perfect. Right on the beach and right next to the pier. Plenty for everyone to do and the people who own the hotel are incredibly wonderful and accomodating. They are always upgrading too! Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
Thank Sarahsue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2010

The redone rooms were great, clean. You are right on the beach and that is the best thing!! Short walk to the shops. The owners were great!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingchicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is a wonderful motel, clean, friendly, right on the beach, we had a wonderful time. I cannot think of one thing to complain about ! You can bet the next Old orchard trip we make we will be staying at the Beachwood,

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceandGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The service was great, Shannon and John were very friendly. The motel was 1)clean
2)well maintained pool with hot tub. 3) Quiet 4)Items shch as stoves and refridgerator like new. I can't say enough about this motel, If i wanted to know where something was they would take the time to explain to me, they even went as far as to print out the directions for me. Thanks again


Lou , Canajoharie ny

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seafoodkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

This is the perfect location for anyone!!! The hotel was located right next to the theme park, The Pier, and the ocean. Very clean & friendly!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruceandapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

If you are claustrophobic, do not stay at this hotel. The property is well-kept outside and the rooms are clean but....our room was extremely small. The lounging chair was stained, the furniture appeared to be from the 40's. There is a combination 2-burner stove, sink and refrigerator that is made of metal and looks like it has been painted many times over. There is paneling on the walls that is painted some yucky cream color and the mattress leaned to one side. The bathroom mirror was covered with rust and the sink had no plunger!! Now the good part....it is a matter of yards from the pier, food and amusements. The beach is just a short walk through the property and you are on the sand. The view is very nice and the pool is well maintained. Each of the upper rooms has a balcony with two plastic but comfortable chairs and another larger shared area for lounging on lounge chairs. Each guest is allowed one parking spot. We asked if we could stay until 1:30 since check-in isn't untill 3:00 but we were told no since they allow those coming in to arrive early. Would I stay there again....? No.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood007, Owner at The Beachwood, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2010

Thank you for reviewing our motel. We wanted to update you that this room no longer exists on our property. Over the past 3 years, we have completely re-built 31 of the 45 units that we have. This unit was also expanded to be almost double in size.

Sincerely,
John & Shannon Cloutier (Hosts)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We have just return from a 4 days/3 night stay at the Beachwood and we completely enjoyed and appreciated our stay.

With 2 young kid aboard, we wanted a family inviting place with a good location either for the beach or the main street, and the Beachwood offered both. The people there were very kind and accomodating to all of our demand. The room was pefectly neet upon arrival and freshened uo every day. All the advertised services ( wifi internet, dvd, heated pool etc...) were also available.

On location we compared wath other motel offered and we are convince that the Beachwood was the best we could have at the price we paid.

We are defenitly looking forward to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank myasselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachwood

Address: 29 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2633
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $85 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Beachwood 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachwood is a family friendly ocean front lodging establishment located in the heart of Old Orchard Beach, Maine. Each unit is newly remodeled and offers a full kitchenette, Keurig coffee machine, DVD player, flat screen television and a fresh beach decor. We provide complimentary coffee, newspapers, beach chairs and umbrellas, long distance telephone calls are free as is quality wifi access and we provide onsite coin operated laundry for our guests. Our beachfront pool is heated with plenty of seating and our front lawn has a barbeque area with 3 Weber grills for guests to use and additional lounge chairs. Our prime location offers spectacular ocean views and a very short walk to area attractions, restaurants, entertainment and amusements. We are an eco-friendly establishment that has invested significantly to reduce our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachwood Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing