We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachbum”
Review of The Beachwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachwood
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is the best. Rooms are immaculate, all newly renovated. So close to the beach you can hear the waves crashing at night. Pool is clean, never too crowded and heated.
The hosts and staff are wonderful. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Every room has a great oceanview. The hotel in general is peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brownie328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Beachwood last week and absolutely loved it! Not only is this a nice place but the location is perfect! We parked the car Sunday morning when we checked in and did not use it again until we checked out on Wednesday. It was a very short walk to all the shops and attractions and just steps out the door to the beach. Loved that we could go quickly go back to the room from the beach if needed. The beach was also nice and clean and great for boogie boarding. My son is still missing the waves! The hotel room was very clean and nicely furnished. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful...even called us after check out to ask if we had left clothes in the room that were found while they were cleaning the room. It was nice to have the pool to swim at night and that was very clean as well. Plenty to do right in the area but we spent most of our time at the beach. I will also say that I looked at some of the other area hotels while we were out walking around at night and there is not one other that I would consider trying. Stay at the Beachwood! I know I will be doing just that next summer. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsfan513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This motel is right on the beach and some rooms have beautiful views. There is a pool and hottub, I never got into the hottub because there were always several children in it. I did get in the pool but it was so overclorinated that after 5 minutes I had to get out.

The room was nice for a motel, but it was very small without a closet. Therefore, it looked like a tornado had been through it will all of our stuff. The bed was uncomfortable and oddly had no mattress pad or bed skirt. There were make up stains on the bedspread.

Relatives that stayed in other motels said this one is better, but still can't give it more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landsick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood007, Owner at The Beachwood, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We agree that our establishment is a good place for families. We make every effort to exceed expectations, so it's disappointing when we fall short. We would like to inform you that all bedding (sheets, comforters, blankets and pillow shams) is laundered every time a guest checks out. In addition, our pool and hot tub are tested at least 3 times per day with the results logged and treatments signed off by our Certified Pool Operator. We make every effort to be clear about what we offer in each room and to give guests comfort in what to expect. This is why we feature a picture of every room on our website with nothing staged or enhanced. Please also note that we do offer more spacious units with closets, but all of our units are one room studios with similar amenities. We rely on feedback from guests to target our future investments, so we appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your perspective.

Sincerely,
John & Shannon Cloutier (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

…our next visit to the Beachwood Motel. This is our second year and we enjoy it very much. The weather is never unbearably hot, the beach is always comfortable with a nice breeze and the water temp is refreshing. Of course all that wouldn’t mean much without having terrific hosts like John and Shannon who are always friendly and attentive. When you visit, give Big Daddy’s Bar and Grill a try after you’ve had your fill of lobster and seafood for some incrediably and surprisingly good food. They are new and have a good thing going. We also like JJ’s Eatery and The Brunswick. We tend to use the in-room kitchenette the Beachwood offers a lot since eating out gets old real fast. For things to do, head to Portland and take the ferry cruise around Casco Bay or be adventurous and try Portland Schooner Company for one of their windjammer cruises; what fun we had. Also try heading to Brunswick, about 45 minutes north and take the Maine Eastern Railroard to Rockland and see the lighthouse museum and do some shopping. Or do like we did and get the train, plane and lighthouse package which includes a 30 minute plane ride over Penobscot Bay for a breathtaking view of scenery and lighthouses. At any rate it should all begin from the comfort of the Beachwood Motel in OOB.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Beachwood is the best place to stay in OOB. The rooms were exceptionally clean, the yard was immaculate and the staff were so pleasant!! We have come to OOB for 14 years and wished we located this motel many years ago. The accessability to town and the beach was convienient!! We are sure to back for a week next summer!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Wonderful view, location and staff. The Beachwood Motel is right on the beach and is literally a one minute walk away from downtown Old Orchard. I have stayed at many hotels in Old Orchard and the Beachwood is the most convenient!! There are patio sets, lounge chairs and decks for people to sit on around the motel, which are great for eating outside with family or viewing the Fireworks OOB puts on every Thursday night during the summer season. The rooms are very clean and up-to-date. All rooms have a fridge, stovetop, oven, microwave and sink. The Beachwood Motel even has first come-first serve beach chairs and umbrella's for their customers - there are quite a few of these so no hurry. Last but not least, the owners and staff of the Beachwood are awesome. Very friendly and customer service is #1 here. We have been loyal customers for the past six years...Can't recommend the Beachwood enough.

Room Tip: Room 121 - private deck!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Beachwood is awesome. The rooms are clean, attractive, comfortable and have everything you could possibly need. Complete Kitchenette with stainless steel stove, refridge with freezer, microwave, toaster, sink, small table and chairs, keurig coffee maker with free coffee at all times, flat screen tv and wireless internet. The pool and jacuzzi are very nice and well kept. Grills if you want to cook out, They also supply you with beach towels and beach chairs and umbrellas.
Lounge chairs everywhere to relax in. The staff is exceptional, very friendly and helpful and do their jobs well. A well run operation that goes above and beyond. We will be back next summer for a week.

Room Tip: I like the second floor. Better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#16 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#26 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachwood

Address: 29 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2633
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $85 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Beachwood 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachwood is a family friendly ocean front lodging establishment located in the heart of Old Orchard Beach, Maine. Each unit is newly remodeled and offers a full kitchenette, Keurig coffee machine, DVD player, flat screen television and a fresh beach decor. We provide complimentary coffee, newspapers, beach chairs and umbrellas, long distance telephone calls are free as is quality wifi access and we provide onsite coin operated laundry for our guests. Our beachfront pool is heated with plenty of seating and our front lawn has a barbeque area with 3 Weber grills for guests to use and additional lounge chairs. Our prime location offers spectacular ocean views and a very short walk to area attractions, restaurants, entertainment and amusements. We are an eco-friendly establishment that has invested significantly to reduce our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachwood Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing