We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachwood
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I grew up vacationing in OOB every year with my family. Now with a family of my own, this was the first time staying at the Beachwood and going forward, this will be the ONLY place we stay on OOB. It's literally like being at home. Staff is super friendly, rooms and property are very clean and modern, and excellent location. The pool is very clean and actually heated, about 85 degrees!!! You can walk right in. They even provide you with beach umbrellas and chairs. Who does that? No one! The Beachwood is listed #2 on TripAdvisor, with the Echo Motel listed as #1. That's a joke! Walked by the Echo and it looks like a place I wouldn't step foot into, old and outdated. Don't waste your time calling around to other establishments on OOB. If you can get into the Beachwood, DO IT! You won't regret it. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

Location right on the beach was perfect. We stayed there for a few days after Labor Day so the amusement park was closed. The property is very well cared for, very clean and new. The owners extremely helpful and want to please. They loaned us free DVDs as it was raining. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Its not a 4 star hotel but it is clean, nice sized room, awsome location if you want to be at the beach and close to the boardwalk. The room comes with a full size fridge and an actuall oven range, microvawe and a toaster. A grocery store is nearby if you want to cut down on the fried foods intake. 2 grills are also provided at the property.
Given the proximity to the rides it was really quiet in the room. The owners and staff are very nice,polite and cairing. The beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided. The pool is heated which was a pleasant surprise.
The beds were a bit uncomfortable but that can be a personal preference.
We had fun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imagboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Family run, great customer service, beautifully renovated rooms, high quality linens, full kitchens, great heated pool, great location right on ocean - very close to amusement park but noise was never a problem. Hotel provides beach towels, beach chairs, even boogy boards! Rooms are a bit small but very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: 3 rooms face the ocan, one has it's own private patio - the other 2 share a patio -worth inquiri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soupiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I am 49 years old and have been taking a summer trip to Old Orchard Beach every year since I could drive and I bet I have stayed in all the motels on the beachfront at one point or another.......and was lucky enough to be able to stay here for the first time 10 years ago and will never stay anywhere else from now on. This place offers the real meaning of tradition. We see the same friends every year. The new owners are wonderful friends now and very accommodating for everyone. This motel is right on the beach and close to the heart of town. Rooms have been redone from top to bottom and a laundry room with vending machines was added this year!! Always have a great time when we stay here and the housekeeping staff is the best!! You can cook your own meals or go out on the town. Lots of rides for the kids within walking distance. Can't say enough about this property except if a person doesn't get to stay at the Beachwood at least once, they haven't really had a vacation in OOB.

Room Tip: Booking on January 1st will help you secure what time you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed here several times and keep coming back for more. John and Shannon are the perfect hosts and keep a spotless and family friendly establishment. The rooms are clean and current. (remember folks you are on a beach and adults and kids are in and out of them constantly so they do take a beating, but they still are well maintained). For the people who comment on the noise from the amusement park, its really not noticeable. And if you are that concerned about it, try a lesser quality place on not oceanside or on the other side of the street, I will guarantee you will wish you stayed here. The pool is always clean along with the spa and the ph checked frequently. The staff are friendly and helpful too and work their butts of keeping the rooms and grounds looking good. (don't forget to leave them a little thank you when you leave). Location is everything and the Beachwood has it. A few steps to the beach, a few minutes to the amusement park and a few minutes to the pier. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

From check-in to check-out we were treated very well by the staff and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My husband and I had reserved a beachside and we were very pleased with the cleanliness.

The room seemed freshly painted and had a refrigerator, stainless steel sink, and stove with small oven. Some of the furniture seemed a little dated, but overall the decor was pretty nice.

The outdoor pool and hot tub were clean, good temperature, and well kept, even when we were there during a busy weekend. You hear a little bit of noise from the park, but it's not too bad.

The parking spots are all assigned so you have no fear of not finding a spot, but on the other hand, there isn't room for guests or additional cars.

The wireless internet worked well, and the flat panel TV was nice to watch when it was rainy and foggy one evening.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selinthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachwood

Address: 29 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2633
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $85 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Beachwood 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachwood is a family friendly ocean front lodging establishment located in the heart of Old Orchard Beach, Maine. Each unit is newly remodeled and offers a full kitchenette, Keurig coffee machine, DVD player, flat screen television and a fresh beach decor. We provide complimentary coffee, newspapers, beach chairs and umbrellas, long distance telephone calls are free as is quality wifi access and we provide onsite coin operated laundry for our guests. Our beachfront pool is heated with plenty of seating and our front lawn has a barbeque area with 3 Weber grills for guests to use and additional lounge chairs. Our prime location offers spectacular ocean views and a very short walk to area attractions, restaurants, entertainment and amusements. We are an eco-friendly establishment that has invested significantly to reduce our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachwood Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing