We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing..”
Review of The Beachwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachwood
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing..”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My family and I were so impressed by this place. Clean, bright, newly renovated.. If you are planning a trip to Old Orchard this place is for you.. The staff are nothing but helpful.They had beach chairs, beach towels, boggie boards all for free. The view from our room was amazing. I can not say enough wonderful things about The Beachwood.. Thank you for making our trip so wonderful.

Room Tip: Clean, Amazing views, everything that you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    34
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
87
87
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Old Orchard Beach revival starts here.
My wife and I heard through trip advisor that this was a good spot that had been renovated recently. We were looking for an ocean front room with a little privacy but wasn't too old or run down. We chose the Beachwood for our much needed weekend getaway. From the moment we got there John was a gracious host. He greeted us with a smile and we knew we hit the right place. What we didn't know was how we would be staying in a little home away from home. Our newly renovated room was absolutely perfect. From the beautiful tile floor, the comfortable beds, and the stainless steel kitchenette, it couldn't have been more welcoming. Even though the weekend wasn't the greatest weather wise, we spent a lot of time on the huge deck overlooking the ocean with the pier peeking out to the left of us, less than a minute walk away on the beach.
I have to say that in our two day stay, not ONE employee walked by us without saying hello. It was great to see that they actually cared about us. They were glad to see us.
Having coffee in the lobby all day was a great plus that they were happy to provide.

Thank you for a great weekend. We will certainly be back, and I recommend this Motel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MattDeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My girls and I stayed here kind of by chance. Weren't we lucky!! The location couldn't be better and the rooms were completely remodeled!! We ended up going back again in the same summer because we had so much fun and we are going back in june this year!!! We are so excited!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melmarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2010

our stay at this motel was awesome ! we were in the newly remodeled side of the place and room was totally great. new, clean, modern, every ammenity. great outdoor experience, tables, chairs, pool, hottub.. all excellent. I was needing a couple things and the owners/staff were more than accomodating.. extremely friendly and went out of thier wy to ensure my stay was a good one. I cant wait to go back. I'd be there in Oct but they close.. :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelley64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I read reviews to get a "feel" for this motel, never having been to OOB. I saw one where the owner responded to complaints about some fixtures and facilities saying that the entire place had been outfitted with new equipment. His statement is absolutely true. Our room had a brand new frig, microwave, and kitchenette cabinetry. The TV was a modern, wall mounted plasma-type much more attractive to the decor than those old style portable TVs on wall mounts reminiscent of a hospital. There was a DVD player and the Office had a little selection of rental movies if you had a mind to watch a movie in your room. The bath and shower were also new. The staff did a terrific job and the place is spotless.There's a daily local newspaper and coffee each morning in the Office, both complimentary.
One fringe benefit is the on-site parking. I am accustomed to free-parking being a "given" at stores or restaurants. As a first time visitor to OOB I was unaware of the parking situation in this beautiful resort. Most of the "on the water" businesses seem to have leased or sold their parking lots to contractors who then rent spots, on a daily basis, to vacationers looking to spend a day at the beach. I'll cover this situation more in-depth in my review of OOB, the city.
This facility is run by a "native" Maine-er (if that's what indiginous peoples are called)and it's been in the same family for generations. They even have a small trophy case with pictures of the founders (parents) and photos of the motel as it looked in bygone days. IMHO this type of ownership creates an espri-de-corps which shows in every phase of the operation of this motel.
One of the drawbacks, and certainly not the fault of the management, is the noise. One can hear the screams of the kids on the thrill rides at the amusement park less than one-block away. There were fireworks @ 9:45 PM on Thursday night which scared us out of our wits. They were set off practically in our back yard. I only submit this as a point-of-information for those seniors who might be "early-to-bed..." folks as we are. Most vacationers sat out on the porch or patio till about 11PM, the time that the pool and hot tub shut down. If you love to be right in the middle of the action, you're in the right place...if you want peace and quiet, perhaps you're not.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBE724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This was the first time we stayed at this motel. The handicap room on the first floor was quite a find in OOB. The second floor had a decent ocean view.The rooms were small but clean and well equipped, and quite. The pool are was nice. The motel had a great location almost right next to the amusements, and very close to the shops. The staff and owners were accomidating and pleasant. My family had a great time. We are looking forward to next summer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I have nothing wrong to say about this hotel. Located right on the beach. 2 minutes walk to the pier and all the action. This is the place to stay! We've been going there for 6 years in a row and it's great! They provide all guests with beach towel & chairs. All rooms have kitchenette. 2 BBQ at your service. Clean pool and hot tub. Staff are excellent. Owner Mr & Mrs Cloutier makes you feel right at home. Rooms are very clean! Best place to stay in Old Orchard Beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert123456086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#35 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#5 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachwood

Property: The Beachwood
Address: 29 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2633
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Beachwood 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachwood is a family friendly ocean front lodging establishment located in the heart of Old Orchard Beach, Maine. Each unit is newly remodeled and offers a full kitchenette, Keurig coffee machine, DVD player, flat screen television and a fresh beach decor. We provide complimentary coffee, newspapers, beach chairs and umbrellas, long distance telephone calls are free as is quality wifi access and we provide onsite coin operated laundry for our guests. Our beachfront pool is heated with plenty of seating and our front lawn has a barbeque area with 3 Weber grills for guests to use and additional lounge chairs. Our prime location offers spectacular ocean views and a very short walk to area attractions, restaurants, entertainment and amusements. We are an eco-friendly establishment that has invested significantly to reduce our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachwood Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing