We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn - Wonderful Inn Keeper!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Orchard Beach Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Inn - Wonderful Inn Keeper!”
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We highly recommend the Old Orchard Beach Inn. It's just charming and centrally located to all of our favorite destinations in Southern Maine! The rooms are large, immaculate and charming - a perfect place to relax. Breakfast was delicious - it was nice sitting out on the front porch drinking our morning coffee. The Inn Keeper is just wonderful - very helpful with directions to points of interests, local events, dining, etc. This was our fifth stay at the Old Orchard Beach Inn - We won't stay anywhere else when visiting Southern Maine!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank PandIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    41
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
77
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2008

The Old Orchard Beach Inn is lovely. Our room was not only beautiful but very comfortable. The Inn Keeper couldn't have been any nicer. She was very helpful with 'things to do & places to visit', making the most of our stay. This was our first visit to the area & we stayed here because of the wonderful stay our friends had here earlier in the year..

I highly recommend The Old Orchard Beach Inn. You won't be dissapointed.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank onesweetharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We drove up to Maine from the Sea Food Festival in Hampton Beach and was looking for a place to stay. There appeared to be no vacancies at several of the motels and inns. Then we drove up the hill and my friend spotted the vacancy sign in front of the Inn. So we went in and was greeted by the owner who was very down to earth and accommodating. There was even tea and cookies set out for the travelers. We had a room on the second floor that was a good size and beautifully decorated. The breakfast had alot to choose from and the coffee was the best!
It is quieter staying there then down in the town. Easy walking distance to everywhere.
I will go back next year and recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank free2bme52NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilltesta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We recently stayed at the Old Orchard Beach Inn for a long weekend and had a nice stay. The Inn is slightly off the beaten path (but still close to the beach/Pier, a 5 minute walk) and is ideal for those looking for a quieter stay in the bustling OOB Pier area. The Inn is very well kept/clean and is decorated in traditional 1730s era style.

The best thing about the Inn is that it manages to preserve it's 1730s history without skimping on modern amenities, ie; modern bathrooms, air conditioning and TVs with cable. The continental breakfast is also excellent, featuring fresh fruit salad and fresh baked muffins and pastries.

Although our room (Room #2 on the first floor) was nicely decorated and large, it only had one small window and it did not really get any natural light. We had to turn on all of the lights to be able to see at anytime of the day. Also, the view from the window is less than desirable, as it faces the Inn's dumpster.

One other minor detail; there was no mattress pad on the bed...just one thin set of sheets. Personally, wherever I stay (no matter how nice/clean), I prefer to have a little more than a thin cotton sheet separating me from a mattress that has had hundreds (maybe thousands) of strangers who have slept there before me. Plus, without a mattress pad the sheets slipped off the mattress quite easily.

Despite my qualms, I would definitely stay at the Old Orchard Beach Inn again, but I would select a room on the second level that faces the street.

Though the Inn's website is informational, I think they should put up photos of all of their rooms so guests can know exactly what it is they're getting. It is a little pricier than other locations that are not directly on the beach, but you get what you pay for at Old Orchard Beach.

Overall, I think the Old Orchard Beach Inn is a nice place to stay. It offers old world charm with modern amenities. It is quiet, yet a close walk to the beach.

  • Liked — The common area porches were lovely places to read, have cocktailsor your breakfast.
  • Disliked — The view from our room was a dumpster and there was no mattress pad on the bed.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jilltesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We went at Old Orchard Beach after a break of 22 years.

We stayed at this Bed & Breakfast after many call to other place and all are no vacancy but we were very lucky to book at this place. It was the weekend before the July 4 th.

It's a very beautiful restored house. We spend two nights in a room 11. This room is on second floor in the front of the house. It's a very clean and nice room with 2 double beds, antique furniture, private bathroom, partial view of the ocean and all amenities for confortable stay.

After a busy beach afternoon, we appreciated to get back to the peace and tranquility of this B&B and relax on the patio.

If we return at Old Orchard Beach, we will stay here another time.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda-Gratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#16 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#5 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#3 of 22 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Suites
Atlantic Ocean Suites
#6 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Orchard Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Orchard Beach Inn

Property: Old Orchard Beach Inn
Address: 6 Portland Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2212
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Orchard Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Old Orchard Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Orchard Beach Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing