We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our first trip to Old Orchard and were not quite sure what to expect. It was wonderful!! We were absolutely thrilled with our accomodations at the Echo Motel. Leslie and Paul (the owners) were so welcoming and friendly. The motel and its surroundings were spotless and the staff was polite, friendly and extremely helpful. A 30 second walk and we were at the beach, and at the end of the day the kids loved to wind down in the heated pool. We will definately be going back and will be staying at the Echo Motel.

Villeneuve Family

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villeneuves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

Our family has just returned from our annual 2 week vacation at Old Orchard Beach, ME. For the past 16 years, we have rented an ocean front cottage(HOUSE) from the Echo Motel & Cottages. We started by renting cottage #3 and just this year switched to cottage #2(not because one is better than the other...just because we wanted to go later in July and cottage #2 was available). The wonderful thing is all cottages are supplied with linens, towels, silverware, dishes, pots & pans, gas grill and best of all a washer and dryer. As a mother of 4 children ages 14, 16, 21 & 22, this is the best thing...I remember prior to having the washer & dryer spending an entire day at the laundromat with dryers that never got the clothes dry. Location is also key, your far enough away from the crowds, however walking distance to the pier. Another major plus is how clean and spacious the cottages are. The owners are wonderful and you know they take pride in their motel & cottages! It's truly a great way to spend your vacation...a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlaprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My children and I recently returned home from another vacation in Old Orchard Beach, Maine. For over the last 30 years we have rented a beach front house through the Echo Motel and Cottages. During the past three years, the ocean house has been completely modernized with all the comforts and features that we enjoy all year long at home. The Dubuc family takes excellent care to maintain the house. It would not be summer if our family did not vacation in Old Orchard Beach at the Echo Motel and Cottages!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dickscott5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

My family & I have been coming to this hotel for 27 yrs. & we stay for 2 wks. Have stayed at the Echo Motel & Echo Place. Both are very clean. Hotel owners are great! & so are their staff. Have recommended to friends & they all come with their children every yr. Very close to beach, great pool, beautiful clean beach. Would definately recommend this hotel for yr next vacation to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnecticutCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We just came home from a week stay on Cottage 2 at the Echo. We couldn't have asked for a better location and accomodations. The cottage had g we neeeded and more, The high speed internet and good cell phone coverage for my husband who still had to work part of the day. Close location the the Pier for the young adults and the beach right outside our door for keeping a close eye on the grandchildren and a grand view for me to sit out on one of the 2 wrap around decks to relax.
We used the pool at the motel every day and played and played in the sand.
The cottage was spacious and very well equipped. They thought of everyting when furnishing from lobster pots to salt and pepper shakers.
We cooked everyday on the grill provided. The washer and dryer and dishwasher were an added bonus.
We will definately stay there again if we can spend the whole week. It was a beach experience most of us can only dream of.
I checked the Business Center box because we brought everything we needed to use in the cottage. I checked the fitness center box because the beach was right outside our door for walking.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We spent a week at the Echo Motel / Echo Side. The accomodations are magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go to the beach (about 35 feet away). The outdoor pool is heated and in the sun, so you can literally be at the pool one minute or at the beach the next.

Our kids are 14 and 17 and they enjoyed every day of their summer vacation and if they needed some quiet time, they each had their own bedroom to escape to.

Restaurants are close by, but it was wonderful having a very large kitchen that I could prepare my familys meals in.

The three bedroom house has a great sea breeze in every room , so if you are not fond of air conditioning, this is the house to stay at. Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel / house we have ever stayed at on vacation and believe me my wife is hard to please!

Paul and Leslie are on site owners and are two very down to earth people. They would not turn you away or say they are "too busy right now" when you have a question or if you need something. They attend to each indviduals needs. I would recommend the Echo Motel to all!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SouthBostonPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

I would highly recommend the cottages at the ECHO MOTEL AND COTTAGES. We just came back from a week long stay in cottage 2 (OCEAN FRONT). The cottage was just totally renovated. Everything is brand new. The cottage is very large, clean and has all the comforts of home: Washer/ Dryer, dishwasher, private gas grill, and 2 wrap around decks with breathtaking views of the ocean. No expense was spared during renovations and has a great New England Beach theme throughout. Prices are very reasonable. We can't wait to go back to Old Orchard next Summer. We can already hear the ECHO calling us back. I will never stay anywhere else. A++++++ RESORT!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kailey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments
Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apart...
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages

Address: 8 Traynor St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2918
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $113 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Echo Motel & Cottages are centrally located and within walking distance to the pier. The Oceanfront Cottages are large with wraparound decks that offer incredible views of the beach and bay. Other cottages within feet of the ocean are also available. Clean and comfortable motel units with or without kitchenettes are located 50 feet from the ocean with no streets to cross. All accommodations are reasonably priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Motel And Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Echo Hotel Oceanfront
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing